• 10 Rubles 2014, Y# 1523, Russia, Federation, Unity of Russia and Crimea, Republic of Crimea
  • 10 Rubles 2014, Y# 1523, Russia, Federation, Unity of Russia and Crimea, Republic of Crimea

The series of two 10 Rubles coins celebrates the entering of Republic of Crimea and the Federal City of Sevastopol into the Russian Federation.

In the 8th century BCE the Cimmerians migrated to the region and subsequently the Scythians as well it being the site of Greek colonies. The most important city was Chersonesos at the edge of today's Sevastopol. The Persian Achaemenid Empire expanded to Crimea. Later occupiers included the Romans, Goths, Huns, Bulgars, the Byzantine Empire, Khazars, the Kipchaks, the Golden Horde, and the state of Kievan Rus'. The Crimean Khanate, a vassal state of the Ottoman Empire, succeeded the Golden Horde and lasted from 1449 to 1779. In 1774, the Khanate was proclaimed independent and was then annexed by the Russian Empire in 1783. A series of short-lived governments (Crimean People's Republic, Crimean Regional Government, Crimean SSR) were established during first stages of the Russian Civil War, but they were followed by White Russian (General Command of the Armed Forces of South Russia, later South Russian Government). In October 1921, the Crimean Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic of the Russian SFSR was instituted. After the Second World War and the subsequent deportation of all of the indigenous Crimean Tatars, the Crimean ASSR was stripped of its autonomy in 1946 and was downgraded to the status of an oblast of the Russian SFSR. In 1954, the Crimean Oblast was transferred from the Russian SFSR to the Ukrainian SSR by decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Soviet Union. In 1992 after the dissolution of the Soviet Union the Autonomous Republic of Crimea was formed as a constituent entity of independent Ukraine.


In the center of the disc indication of the denomination of the coin: 10 RUBLES, inside of the figure 0 hidden pictures of the number 10 and of the inscription RUB visible by turns on changing angle of vision, in the lower part of the disc the mint trade mark SPMD, on the ring along the rim above the inscription: BANK OF RUSSIA, below the year of issue 2014, to the left and to the right stylized twigs of plants going over to the disc.



The map of Peninsula Crimea, in the centre the date 18.03.2014, to the right the relief image of the architectural monument Swallow’s Nest near Gaspra and inscriptions along the rim above RUSSIAN FEDERATION, below REPUBLIC OF CRIMEA.

The Swallow's Nest is a decorative castle located at Gaspra, a small spa town between Yalta and Alupka, in the Crimean Peninsula. It was built between 1911 and 1912, on top of the 40-metre (130 ft) high Aurora Cliff, in a Neo-Gothic design by the Russian architect Leonid Sherwood for the Baltic German oil millionaire Baron von Steingel.

The castle overlooks the Cape of Ai-Todor on the Black Sea coast and is located near the remains of the Roman castrum of Charax. The Swallow's Nest is one of the most popular visitor attractions in Crimea, having become the symbol of Crimea's southern coastline.

The Treaty on Accession of the Republic of Crimea to Russia was signed between representatives of the Republic of Crimea (including Sevastopol, with which the rest of Crimea briefly unified) and the Russian Federation on 18 March 2014 to lay out terms for the immediate admission of the Republic of Crimea and Sevastopol as federal subjects of Russia and part of the Russian Federation.



300 corrugations and the inscription ДЕСЯТЬ РУБЛЕЙ (TEN RUBLES) recurring twice and divided by asterisks.


Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Copper Plated Steel
Weight 5.63 g
Diameter 22 mm
Thickness 2.2 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Saint Petersburg Mint (SPMD)

Related coins


Unity of Russia and Crimea

Cupronickel, 5.63 g, ⌀ 22 mm