With the Constitution Act of 1919, the first Constitution of an independent Finland, the nation elected to be governed as a republic. Finland’s republican system of government and the foundations of Finnish democracy were recorded in the Constitution Act.

This commemorative coin pays tribute to the Finnish Constitution Act of 1919. The basic tenets of the Finnish Constitution Act of 1919 still form the foundation of Finland’s current constitution and its development during Finnish independence. The commemorative coin is designed by Dario Vidal.

The coin is packaged in a clear protective casing set in a Finnish birch veneer frame. The frame is wrapped in a sleeve and comes with a certificate of authenticity telling the commemorative coin’s story, along with the technical specifications of the product.

Issue date: 17 June 2019


Vidal’s design reflects the core tenets of the Constitution Act of 1919. In his universal, abstract expression, the designer has sought to capture the essence of democracy through the votes cast by citizens. The year of issue, 2019, is placed to the right.

The number of the numbered commemorative coin (if any) is below.



Depicts three partly fused circles symbolising the separation of powers into the legislative, executive, and judiciary branches. The country name in two official languages (Finnish and Swedish) is placed above the primary design and the coin’s denomination is shown below. The engraver's initial “V” and the Mint of Finland’s logo (lion) are placed on either side of the central motif.


Type Commemorative Issue (Non-circulating)
Material Gold
Fineness 0.917
Weight 5.65 g
Diameter 22 mm
Thickness -
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Mint of Finland

Related coins

Constitution Act of Finland 1919

Nickel Brass, 8.5 g, ⌀ 25.75 mm