The Saqqawists were an armed group in Afghanistan active from 1924 to 1931, led by Habibullāh Kalakāni. In January 1929, they captured Kabul and re-established the Emirate of Afghanistan, but were ousted by October 1929 due to defeats in the Afghan Civil War. Kalakani's rule from January to October 1929 is known as the "Saqqawist period." Despite a subsequent rebellion in 1930, the Saqqawists were finally suppressed by 1931.

Habibullah Kalakani (1891–1929), derisively called "Bacha-ye Saqao" (literally "son of the water carrier") by the Pashtuns, ruled Afghanistan from 17 January to 13 October 1929 and led the Saqqawists. During the Afghan Civil War (1928–1929), he captured significant territories and controlled Kabul. An ethnic Tajik, Kalakani was not recognized as the ruler of Afghanistan by any country. He contested the throne with Amanullah Khan and, after defeating him, was eventually overthrown by Mohammad Nadir Shah.


Depicts the emblem of the Emirate of Afghanistan, denomination in Pashto letters (One Habibi) above.

The Afghan Emblem features a mosque with a mihrab and minbar (pulpit) at its center. Flanking the mosque are two flags, topped with a royal shako. The mosque is encircled by rays forming eight points, inspired by 19th-century Ottoman Imperial standards, symbolizing Afghanistan's flags surrounded by wheat sheaves.

یك حبیبی


Depicts Habibullah Khan's name, Amir of Afghanistan and "The servant of religion of Messenger of Allah", the date of accession in Lunar Hijri below surrounded by a wreath, denomination in Persian letters (Thirty Rupees) above.

سی روپیه
امير حبيب
رسول الله
خادم دين


1 Habibi (30 Rupees)

Saqqawist Emirate
KM# 899
Material Gold
Fineness 0.900
Weight 4.6 g
Diameter 21 mm
Thickness -
Shape round
Alignment Coin
Kabul Mint

Related coins

Saqqawist Emirate

Gold, 4.6 g, ⌀ 21 mm