Obverse. Image Courtesy of Professional Coin Grading Service (PCGS.com)
  • 2 Annas 1953-1959, KM# 15, Pakistan
  • 2 Annas 1953-1959, KM# 15, Pakistan

The Federation of Pakistan, also called the Dominion of Pakistan, was an independent federal dominion in South Asia established on 14 August 1947. At its inception, the Dominion of Pakistan did not include its princely states, which gradually acceded over the next year. Its status as a federal dominion within the British Empire ended in 1956 with the completion of the Constitution of Pakistan, which officially established the country as an Islamic Republic. The constitution also administratively split the nation into West Pakistan and East Pakistan, which were until then governed as a singular entity despite being separate geographic exclaves. In 1971, East Pakistan seceded as the new nation of Bangladesh.


Depicts a star and crescent with a tughra in Urdu that translates as "Government of Pakistan" below and the inscription in English above as a semicircle.

The star and crescent is an iconographic symbol used in various historical contexts but most well known today as a symbol of the former Ottoman Empire and, by popular extension, the Islamic world. It appears on the national flag and state emblem of Pakistan.

حكومت پاکستان


Depicts a large numeral value in Urdu in the center enclosed by a value in Urdu, English and Bengali divided the date surrounded by a mirrored floral ornament.

دو آنہ
দুইটা দুই
19 53


2 Annas

Dominion, Islamic Republic
KM# 15 Schön# 15
Material Cupronickel
Weight 5.8 g
Diameter 25.4 mm
Width -
Height -
Thickness 1.5 mm
Shape square
Alignment Medal
Alt # KM# MS2, KM# MS6, KM# PS4
Lahore Mint (L)

Related coins

Dominion, star right of crescent

Cupronickel, 5.8 g, ⌀ 25.4 mm
Dominion, star left of crescent

Cupronickel, 5.8 g, ⌀ 25.4 mm