Obverse. Image Courtesy of Professional Coin Grading Service (PCGS.com)
  • 50 Dirhams 1995, KM# 19, United Arab Emirates, Zayed, Arab League, 50th Anniversary
  • 50 Dirhams 1995, KM# 19, United Arab Emirates, Zayed, Arab League, 50th Anniversary

The Arab League, formally known as the League of Arab States, spans across Northern, Western, and Eastern Africa, as well as Western Asia. Established in Cairo on 22 March 1945, it originally included Egypt, Iraq, Transjordan (now Jordan), Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, and Syria, with Yemen joining shortly after on 5 May 1945. Currently, the League has 22 members, though Syria has been under suspension since November 2011.

The primary objectives of the League are to enhance relations among member states, coordinate their collaboration, safeguard their independence and sovereignty, and address the collective interests of Arab nations. Throughout its history, the organization has encountered varying levels of cooperation among its members.

Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan (1918–2004) was an Emirati leader, credited with founding the United Arab Emirates. He governed the Eastern Region before becoming Abu Dhabi's ruler in 1966 and later the UAE's first president until his passing in 2004. Revered as the "Father of the Nation," he played a pivotal role in uniting the seven emirates. Zayed succeeded his brother as Abu Dhabi's ruler after a peaceful coup in 1966.


Depicts the emblem of the Arab League (a wreath of olive branches with tie ribbon below encircled twenty-two links in the chain representing the twenty-two members of the League enclosed a crescent below the inscription "Arab League"), Arabic inscription above "Arabs' House" and "Towards a better Arab future", dates of establishment and issue and anniversary below in Arabic and English.

بيت العرب
نحو غد عربى افضل
الدول العربية
1945-1995 ١٩٤٥-١٩٩٥


Depicts the emblem of UAE (1973-2008) in the center, denomination below the emblem encircled by the legend in Arabic and English.

The emblem of the United Arab Emirates was officially adopted on December 9, 1973, and modified in 2008. It features a golden falcon (Hawk of Quraish) with a central disk displaying the UAE flag and seven stars, representing the federation's seven emirates. The falcon's seven tail feathers also symbolize the emirates. The falcon grasps a red parchment with the federation's name in Kufic script and a dhow on its chest.

دولة الامارات العربية المتحدة
الامارات العربية المتحدة
٥٠ درهماً

Type Commemorative Issue (Non-circulating)
Material Silver
Fineness 0.925
Weight 40 g
Diameter 40 mm
Thickness -
Shape round
Alignment Medal

Related coins

50th Anniversary

Arab League

Silver, 17.5 g, ⌀ 37.2 mm
60th Anniversary

Arab League

Silver, 17.5 g, ⌀ 37.2 mm