Obverse. Photo © Museum Victoria
  • 1 Penny 1955-1964, KM# 56, Australia, Elizabeth II
  • 1 Penny 1955-1964, KM# 56, Australia, Elizabeth II, Perth Mint, with dot
  • 1 Penny 1955-1964, KM# 56, Australia, Elizabeth II, Melbourne Mint, without dot

Elizabeth II (Elizabeth Alexandra Mary; born 21 April 1926) has been Queen of the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand since 6 February 1952. She is Head of the Commonwealth and Queen of 12 countries that have become independent since her accession: Jamaica, Barbados, the Bahamas, Grenada, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Belize, Antigua and Barbuda, and Saint Kitts and Nevis.

She has reigned through various wars and conflicts involving many of her realms. She is the world's oldest reigning monarch as well as Britain's longest-lived. In 2015, she surpassed the reign of her great-great-grandmother, Queen Victoria, to become the longest-reigning British monarch and the longest-reigning queen regnant and female head of state in world history.

Times of personal significance have included the births and marriages of her children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren, her coronation in 1953, and the celebration of milestones such as her Silver, Golden, and Diamond Jubilees in 1977, 2002, and 2012, respectively. In 2017 she became the first British monarch to commemorate a Sapphire Jubilee.


First portrait of HM Queen Elizabeth II (laureate bust) facing right, wearing a wreath. It was introduced in 1953, one year after the Queen acceded to the throne. It captures the grace and youth of the 26-year-old new Queen. Her hair is restrained by a laureate crown which is tied with ribbons at the back of her head. The Queen's shoulders are bare and the truncation follows the curve of the coin.

ELIZABETH II DEI GRATIA REGINA FIDEI DEFENSATRIX means Elizabeth II, by the grace of God, Queen and Defender of the Faith.

Engraver: Mary Gillick



Commonwealth Star and Kangaroo. Coins minted at Melbourne had a dot at the end of the word PENNY, while coins from Perth did not have a dot.

The Commonwealth Star (also known as the Federation Star, the Seven Point Star, or the Star of Federation) is a seven-pointed star symbolising the Federation of Australia which came into force on 1 January 1901. The Commonwealth Star is one of the distinguishing characteristics of the Australian flag, as opposed to the similar flag of New Zealand.

The kangaroo is a marsupial from the family Macropodidae (macropods, meaning "large foot"). Kangaroos are endemic to Australia. Kangaroos have large, powerful hind legs, large feet adapted for leaping, a long muscular tail for balance, and a small head. Like most marsupials, female kangaroos have a pouch called a marsupium in which joeys complete postnatal development. The kangaroo is an unofficial symbol of Australia and appears as an emblem on the Australian coat of arms and on some of its currency and is used by some of Australia's well known organisations.

Engraver: George Kruger Gray



1 Penny

1st portrait, with F:D:
KM# 56
Material Bronze
Weight 9.45 g
Diameter 30.5 mm
Thickness 1.71 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Melbourne Mint
Perth Mint

Related coins

Bronze, 9.4 g, ⌀ 30.5 mm
without IND:IMP

Bronze, 9.5 g, ⌀ 30.9 mm