Obverse. Photo © NumisCorner.com
  • 25 Centavos 1958-1966, KM# 189, Philippines
  • 25 Centavos 1958-1966, KM# 189, Philippines, KM# 189.1
  • 25 Centavos 1958-1966, KM# 189, Philippines, KM# 189.2

In 1958, a new, entirely base metal coinage was introduced, consisting of bronze 1 centavo, brass 5 centavos and nickel-brass 10, 25 and 50 centavos. This series was demonetized after August 31, 1979, except for the 10-centavo that was demonetized only after January 2, 1998.

There are different designs of this coin:

KM# 189.1 has a funnel-shaped anvil, Liberty with round nose, linked VE in FIVE and 8 smoke rings from volcano.

KM# 189.2 has a round anvil, Liberty with pointed nose, separated VE in FIVE and 6 smoke rings from volcano.


Coat of arms of the Philippines.

The Coat of Arms of the Philippines features the eight-rayed sun of the Philippines with each ray representing the eight provinces (Batangas, Bulacan, Cavite, Manila, Laguna, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga and Tarlac) which were placed under martial law by Governor-General Ramón Blanco during the Philippine Revolution, and the three five-pointed stars representing the three primary geographic regions of Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

On the field on the dexter side is the American bald eagle of the United States, and on the field on the sinister side is the lion rampant of the coat of arms of Castile and León, both representing the country's colonial past.



Lady Liberty striking an anvil with a hammer, volcano Mt. Mayon behind, date below.

Mayon Volcano, also known as Mount Mayon or simply Mayon, is an active stratovolcano in the province of Albay in Bicol Region, on the island of Luzon in the Philippines. Renowned as the "perfect cone" because of its symmetric conical shape, the volcano and its surrounding landscape was declared a national park on July 20, 1938, the first in the nation. Local folklore refers to the volcano being named after the legendary princess-heroine Daragang Magayon (English: Beautiful Lady).



25 Centavos

English series
KM# 189 Schön# 27
Material Copper Nickel Zinc
Weight 5 g
Diameter 24 mm
Thickness 1.6 mm
Shape round
Alignment Coin
Alt # KM# 189.1, KM# 189.2

Related coins

English series

Nickel Brass, 10 g, ⌀ 30.3 mm
Pilipino series

Aluminium, 0.5 g, ⌀ 15.25 mm

People Power Revolution

Nickel, 22 g, ⌀ 36 mm