Obverse. Photo © NumisCorner.com
  • 10 Rubles 2006, Y# 940, Russia, Federation, Russian Federation, Primorsky Krai
  • 10 Rubles 2006, Y# 940, Russia, Federation, Russian Federation, Primorsky Krai

In 2005 the Central Bank of Russia commenced a series of bi-metallic 10 Rubles coins paying tribute to the regions of the Russian Federation. According to the Russian Constitution, the Russian Federation consists of republics, krais, oblasts, cities of federal importance, an autonomous oblast, and autonomous okrugs, all of which are equal subjects of the Russian Federation. Three Russian cities of federal importance have a status of both city and separate federal subject. In 1993, there were 89 federal subjects listed. By 2008, the number of federal subjects had been decreased to 83 because of several mergers. In 2014, Sevastopol and the Republic of Crimea became the 84th and 85th federal subjects of Russia.


In the center of the disc indication of the denomination of the coin: 10 RUBLES, inside of the figure 0 hidden pictures of the number 10 and of the inscription RUB visible by turns on changing angle of vision, in the lower part of the disc the mint trade mark MMD, on the ring along the rim above the inscription: BANK OF RUSSIA, below the year of issue 2006, to the left and to the right stylized twigs of plants going over to the disc.



The coat of arms of Primorsky Krai, the inscriptions along the rim divided by two dots: above RUSSIAN FEDERATION, below PRIMORSKY KRAI.

Primorsky Krai, informally known as Primorye, is the Russian name for a province of Russia. Primorsky means "maritime" in Russian, so in English translation it is known as the Maritime Province or Maritime Territory. Its administrative centre is in the city of Vladivostok. Today, Primorsky Krai has the largest economy in the Russian Far East.

Primorye krai is the farthest south-eastern region of Russia, located in the East of Asia, washed by the Japan Sea (Far East Federal District). The krai is the location of the massive Sikhote-Alin meteorite.

The modern coat of arms of Primorsky Krai is a traditional green shield with a blue Saint Andrew's Cross and a golden tiger going to the left below.

Artist: A. D. Schablykin



300 corrugations and the inscription ДЕСЯТЬ РУБЛЕЙ (TEN RUBLES) recurring twice and divided by asterisks


Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Bi-Metallic
Ring Brass
Center Cupronickel
Weight 8.4 g
Diameter 27 mm
Thickness 2.1 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Moscow Mint (MMD)

Related coins


Russian Federation

Bi-Metallic, 8.4 g, ⌀ 27 mm
Leningrad Oblast

Russian Federation

Bi-Metallic, 8.4 g, ⌀ 27 mm
Tver Oblast

Russian Federation

Bi-Metallic, 8.4 g, ⌀ 27 mm