Obverse. Photo © NumisCorner.com
  • 10 Rubles 2005, Y# 891, Russia, Federation, Russian Federation, Republic of Tatarstan
  • 10 Rubles 2005, Y# 891, Russia, Federation, Russian Federation, Republic of Tatarstan

In 2005 the Central Bank of Russia commenced a series of bi-metallic 10 Rubles coins paying tribute to the regions of the Russian Federation. According to the Russian Constitution, the Russian Federation consists of republics, krais, oblasts, cities of federal importance, an autonomous oblast, and autonomous okrugs, all of which are equal subjects of the Russian Federation. Three Russian cities of federal importance have a status of both city and separate federal subject. In 1993, there were 89 federal subjects listed. By 2008, the number of federal subjects had been decreased to 83 because of several mergers. In 2014, Sevastopol and the Republic of Crimea became the 84th and 85th federal subjects of Russia.


In the center of the disc indication of the denomination of the coin: 10 RUBLES, inside of the figure 0 hidden pictures of the number 10 and of the inscription RUB visible by turns on changing angle of vision, in the lower part of the disc the mint trade mark SPMD, on the ring along the rim above the inscription: BANK OF RUSSIA, below the year of issue 2005, to the left and to the right stylized twigs of plants going over to the disc.



The coat of arms of the Republic of Tatarstan, the inscriptions along the rim divided by two dots: above RUSSIAN FEDERATION, below REPUBLIC OF TATARSTAN.

Tatarstan, officially the Republic of Tatarstan is a federal subject of the Russian Federation, located in the Volga Federal District. Its capital is the city of Kazan.

Aq Bars is the emblem of Tatarstan. It is an ancient Turkic and Bulgar symbol translated as White Leopard or Snow Leopard.

The Tatarstan region received independence from mongols in 1430s with the forming of Kazan Khanate state with capital in Kazan city. Kazan Khanate was conquered by the army of the Russian Tsar Ivan IV the Terrible in 1550s.

Historical and geographical factors called forth the location of Tatarstan at the junction of 2 large civilizations: eastern and western which explains the variety of cultural treasures.

Artist: A. D. Schablykin



300 corrugations and the inscription ДЕСЯТЬ РУБЛЕЙ (TEN RUBLES) recurring twice and divided by asterisks


Swap now (1 offer)
Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Bi-Metallic
Ring Brass
Center Cupronickel
Weight 8.4 g
Diameter 27 mm
Thickness 2.1 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Saint Petersburg Mint (SPMD)

Related coins


Russian Federation

Bi-Metallic, 8.4 g, ⌀ 27 mm
Leningrad Oblast

Russian Federation

Bi-Metallic, 8.4 g, ⌀ 27 mm
Tver Oblast

Russian Federation

Bi-Metallic, 8.4 g, ⌀ 27 mm