Obverse. Photo © NumisCorner.com
  • 1 Krone 1973-1989, KM# 862, Denmark, Margrethe II
  • 1 Krone 1973-1989, KM# 862, Denmark, Margrethe II

Margrethe II (born 16 April 1940) is the Queen of Denmark. She is also the supreme authority of the Church of Denmark and Commander-in-Chief of the Danish Defence. Born into the House of Glücksburg, a royal house with origins in Northern Germany, she was the eldest child of Frederick IX of Denmark and Ingrid of Sweden. She succeeded her father upon his death on 14 January 1972, having had become heir presumptive to her father in 1953, when a constitutional amendment allowed women to inherit the throne. On her accession, Margrethe became the first female monarch of Denmark since Margaret I, ruler of the Scandinavian kingdoms in 1375–1412 during the Kalmar Union. In 1967, she married Henri de Laborde de Monpezat, with whom she has two sons: Crown Prince Frederik (born 1968) and Prince Joachim (born 1969). She has been on the Danish throne for 45 years, becoming the second-longest-reigning Danish monarch after her ancestor Christian IV.

Engraver: Frode Bahnsen


Portrait of Margrethe II facing right.

Mintmaster's initial:
• 1971-1978: S (Vagn Sorensen)
• 1978-1981: B (Peter M Bjarno)
• 1981-1989: R (N. Norregaard Rasmussen)

The heart (♥) is the Royal Danish Mint mark (h, Copenhagen). The use of the heart is a century-old tradition, originally indicating the mint master, later the place of minting. Today, the mint mark serves no practical purpose since Danish coins are minted in only one place.

Moneyer's initial: B (Frode Bahnsen, 1968-1983).



Crowned royal Denmark coat of arms dividing date, value above.

The current version of the Royal Coat of Arms was established by royal decree 5 July 1972. The shield is quartered by a silver cross fimbriated in red, derived from the Danish flag, the Dannebrog. The first and fourth quarters represent Denmark by three crowned lions passant accompanied by nine hearts; the second quarter contains two lions passant representing Schleswig, a former Danish province now divided between Denmark and Germany, the third quarter contains a total of three symbols. The Three Crowns are officially interpreted as a symbol of the former Kalmar Union. The silver ram on blue represents the Faroe Islands and the similarly coloured polar bear represents Greenland. The centre escutcheon, two red bars on a golden shield, represents the House of Oldenburg; the former royal dynasty that ruled Denmark and Norway since the middle of the fifteenth century.

The crown on the shield is a heraldic construction based on the crown of King Christian V. The sovereign's crown is the most important Royal and State symbol and represents national sovereignty. Since 1671 the crown of Christian V, which is kept at Rosenborg Palace, has been the Royal Danish crown. Made by Paul Kurtz in Copenhagen, 1670–1671. Gold with enamel and table-cut stones. Total weight 2080 g. Also 2 garnets and 2 sapphires, of which the largest dates back to Frederick I of Denmark.

19 76

Material Cupronickel
Weight 6.8 g
Diameter 25.5 mm
Thickness 1.6 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Alt # KM# 862.1, KM# 862.2, KM# 862.3
Royal Danish Mint

Related coins

Aluminium Bronze, 6.5 g, ⌀ 25.5 mm

Aluminium Bronze, 6.5 g, ⌀ 25.5 mm

Cupronickel, 6.8 g, ⌀ 25.5 mm