• 5 Naye Paise 1957-1963, KM# 16, India, Republic
  • 5 Naye Paise 1957-1963, KM# 16, India, Republic

The Lion Capital of Ashoka is a sculpture of four Asiatic lions standing back to back, on an elaborate base that includes other animals (an elephant, a galloping horse, a bull, and a lion, separated by intervening spoked chariot-wheels). The wheel on the capital, below the lions, is the model for the one in the flag of India. A graphic representation of the Lion Capital of Ashoka was adopted as the official Emblem of India in 1950.

भारत INDIA


Denomination, date below. "Rupye Ka Beeswa Bhaag" (twentieth of a rupee), "Naye Paise" (new paise) in Devanagari.

रुपये का बीसवाँ भाग
5 नये पैसे 1962

Material Cupronickel
Weight 4.05 g
Diameter 22 mm
Width -
Height -
Thickness 1.67 mm
Shape square
Alignment Medal
Calcutta Mint (no mintmark)
Hyderabad Mint (★)
Hyderabad Mint (⟐)
Mumbai Mint (♦)

Related coins

Aluminium Bronze, 13 g, ⌀ 31 mm
2nd portrait

Cupronickel, 10.76 g, ⌀ 31 mm
World Food Day

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

Silver, 34.7 g, ⌀ 44 mm