Obverse. Photo © NumisCorner.com
  • 5 Qirsh 1967, KM# 412, Egypt
  • 5 Qirsh 1967, KM# 412, Egypt

The United Arab Republic (UAR) was a short-lived political union between Egypt and Syria. The union began in 1958 and existed until 1961, when Syria seceded from the union after the 1961 Syrian coup d'état. Egypt continued to be known officially as the "United Arab Republic" until 1971. The president was Gamal Abdel Nasser. It was a member of the United Arab States, a loose confederation with North Yemen which in 1961 dissolved along with the Republic.


The coat of arms used by the United Arab Republic featured the Pan-Arab colours of the flag of the United Arab Republic (in vertical form) on a shield carried by the Eagle of Saladin. Below, a scroll has the Arabic text for "United Arab Republic".

After the union of Egypt and Syria ended in 1961, Egypt retained the name "United Arab Republic" and continued to use this coat of arms, until the Federation of Arab Republics project caused a change in 1972.

The Arab eagle, in Egypt also known as the Eagle of Saladin or as the Republican Eagle is a heraldic eagle used as an emblem in Arab nationalism and in the coat of arms and flags of the Arab world. The association with Saladin is due to the depiction of an eagle on the west wall of the Cairo Citadel built under Saladin, although the eagle itself is of more recent date.

الجمهورية العربية المتحدة


Denomination divides dates (Hegira and Gregorian), legend "United Arab Republic" above.

الجمهورية العربية المتحدة
٥ قروش
١٣٨٧ ١٩٦٧


5 Qirsh (Piastres)

United Arab Republic
KM# 412 Schön# 115
Swap now (1 offer)
Material Cupronickel
Weight 4.5 g
Diameter 25 mm
Thickness 1.3 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Cairo Mint

Related coins

Sultanate, British Protectorate

Silver, 7 g, ⌀ 26 mm
Sultanate, British Protectorate

Silver, 7 g, ⌀ 25.9 mm

Silver, 7 g, ⌀ 26.1 mm