New Brunswick (French: Nouveau-Brunswick) is one of Canada's three Maritime provinces (together with Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia) and is the only constitutionally bilingual (English–French) province. The principal cities are Fredericton, the capital, Greater Moncton, the largest metropolitan (CMA) area and the most populous city, and the port city of Saint John, which was the first incorporated city in Canada.

The dollar was the currency of New Brunswick between 1860 and 1867. It replaced the pound at a rate of 4 dollars = 1 pound (5 shillings = 1 dollar) and was equal to the Canadian dollar. The New Brunswick dollar was replaced by the Canadian dollar at par when New Brunswick entered the Canadian Confederation.


Laureate head of the Queen, with plait of hair running below the ear, facing left; legend around.

Dei Gratia Regina (often abbreviated) is a Latin title meaning By the Grace of God, Queen.

Victoria (Alexandrina Victoria; 24 May 1819 – 22 January 1901) was Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland from 20 June 1837 until her death. From 1 May 1876, she adopted the additional title of Empress of India. Her reign of 63 years and seven months is known as the Victorian era. It was a period of industrial, cultural, political, scientific, and military change within the United Kingdom, and was marked by a great expansion of the British Empire.

Engraver: Leonard Charles Wyon



Facial value inside a wreath of two maple branches tied wit ha ribbon and Saint-Edward crown.

St Edward's Crown is one of the oldest Crown Jewels of the United Kingdom and the centrepiece of the coronation regalia. Named after Edward the Confessor, it has traditionally been used to crown English and British monarchs at their coronation ceremonies.


Material Silver
Fineness 0.925
Weight 4.648 g
Diameter 22.99 mm
Thickness -
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Royal Mint

Related coins

British colony

Silver, 4.71 g, ⌀ 23.19 mm