The University of Liège (ULg), in Liège, Wallonia, Belgium, is a major public university in the French Community of Belgium.

The University was founded in 1817 by William I of the Netherlands, then King of the United Kingdom of the Netherlands, and by his Minister of Education, Anton Reinhard Falck. The foundation of the university was the result of a long intellectual tradition which dates back to the origins of the Bishopric of Liège. Beginning in the eleventh century, the influence of the prince-bishops of Liège attracted students and prominent scientists and philosophers, such as Petrarch, to study in its libraries. The reputation of its medieval schools gave the city the reputation as a new Athens.


Depicts the University of Liège's coat of arms of and the inscriptions "200th Anniversary of the University of Liège" in French and English. To the left and the right are the dates 1817 and 2017. Below the indication of nationality 'BE' appears between the Royal Belgian Mint mark (Head of Archangel Michael, Saint-Patron of Brussels) and the brand of currency commissioner (Coat of arms of the municipality Herzele). The twelve stars of the European Union surround the design on the outer ring.

Adopted in 1967, the arms shows the arms of the town of Liège in the first and fourth quarters, while the second and third quarters recall the transfer of the university to the campus of Sart Tilmant.

Engraver: Luc Luycx

1817 2017
Universitas Leodiensis


A geographical map of Western Europe spans the outer ring and inner core on the right side of the coin. The inscription 2 EURO is superimposed over the map of Europe, with the numeral “2” located in an open field representing the eastern Atlantic Ocean.

12 stars are located on the right side of the outer ring, with six stars atop the map of Europe and six stars below it; six vertical stripes cut across the inner core of the coin, visually connecting the upper and lower star segments.

Luc Luycx, a designer at the Royal Belgian Mint, designed the Euro’s common reverse; his initials, LL, are seen on the right side of the design, just under the “O” in “EURO.”



The sequence "2 ★ ★" repeated six times alternately upright and inverted

2 ★ ★ 2 ★ ★ 2 ★ ★ 2 ★ ★ 2 ★ ★ 2 ★ ★

2 Euro

Universities in Belgium
200th Anniversary of the Univeristy of Liège

Subscribe series
LA# BEM-8.22
Swap now (1 offer)
Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Bi-Metallic
Ring Cupronickel
Center Nickel Brass
Weight 8.5 g
Diameter 25.75 mm
Thickness 2.2 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Royal Belgian Mint

Related coins

200th Anniversary of the Ghent University

Universities in Belgium

Bi-Metallic, 8.5 g, ⌀ 25.75 mm