Obverse. Photo © NumisCorner.com
  • 2 Heller 1892-1915, KM# 2801, Austro-Hungarian Empire, Austria, Franz Joseph I
  • 2 Heller 1892-1915, KM# 2801, Austro-Hungarian Empire, Austria, Franz Joseph I

Austria-Hungary, often referred to as the Austro-Hungarian Empire in English-language sources, was a constitutional union of the Austrian Empire (the Kingdoms and Lands Represented in the Imperial Council, or Cisleithania) and the Kingdom of Hungary (Lands of the Crown of Saint Stephen or Transleithania) that existed from 1867 to 1918, when it collapsed as a result of defeat in World War I.

Engravers: Anton Scharf, Andreas Neudeck


The double-headed eagle with marshaled arms of Habsburg, Babenberg and Lorraine displayed on the Escutcheon, Order of the Golden Fleece and Imperial Crown.

The coat of arms of Austria-Hungary was that country's symbol during its existence from the Austro-Hungarian Compromise of 1867 to its dissolution in 1918. The double-headed eagle of the ruling House of Habsburg-Lorraine was used by the common Imperial and Royal institutions of the dual monarchy. Additionally, each of the two parts of the real union had its own coat of arms.

The Imperial Crown of Austria was made in 1602 in Prague by Jan Vermeyen as the personal crown of Holy Roman Emperor Rudolf II, and therefore is also known as the Crown of Emperor Rudolf II. The crown was used as a private crown of the Holy Roman Emperors and Kings of Hungary and Bohemia from the House of Habsburg. In 1804 it became the official crown of the newly constituted Austrian Empire. After 1867 it remained the imperial crown of the Cisleithanian part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire until 1918.


Value above U-shaped wreath of a olive branch with (6-4) 10 leaves, date below within shield.


Material Bronze
Weight 3.35 g
Diameter 19 mm
Thickness 1.5 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Vienna Mint (no mintmark)

Related coins

Larger eagle

Copper, 3.3 g, ⌀ 19 mm

Silver, 10 g, ⌀ 27 mm

Silver, 24 g, ⌀ 36 mm