The French protectorate in Morocco was established by the Treaty of Fez. It existed from 1912, when a protectorate was formally established, until independence (18 November 1955), and consisted of the area of Morocco between the Corridor of Taza and the Draa River.

Sultan Yusef ben Hassan (1882–1927) ruled Morocco from 1912 until his death in 1927.


Five-pointed star surrounded by ornate pattern. Latin lettering above outer circle, Arabic lettering below.

A pentagram pointed upwards (five-pointed linear star), known as the Seal of Solomon, is featured on the national flags of Morocco (adopted 1915).

الدولة المغربية


Value within artistic designed star.

The issue year can be determined by whether there is the "lightning bolt" privy mark of Poissy Mint at the bottom of the inner field, under the Arabic denomination. Coins without privy mark are from 1921, coins with privy mark from 1924.

قطعة تساوي
50 CEN-


50 Centimes

French Protectorate
Y# 35 Schön# 27
Material Nickel
Weight 4.8 g
Diameter 23 mm
Thickness 1.3 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Alt # Y# 35.1, Y# 35.2
Paris Mint (A)
Poissy Mint

Related coins

1st portrait

Nickel, 6 g, ⌀ 24 mm

Bi-Metallic, 6.8 g, ⌀ 26.2 mm

Bi-Metallic, 12 g, ⌀ 28 mm