• 10 Francs 1929-1934, Y# 38, Morocco, Mohammed V
  • 10 Francs 1929-1934, Y# 38, Morocco, Mohammed V

The French protectorate in Morocco was established by the Treaty of Fez. It existed from 1912, when a protectorate was formally established, until independence (18 November 1955), and consisted of the area of Morocco between the Corridor of Taza and the Draa River.

Mohammed V (1909–1961) was Sultan of Morocco from 1927 to 1953, exiled from 1953 to 1955, where he was again recognized as Sultan upon his return, and King from 1957 to 1961. His full name was Sidi Mohammed ben Yusef, or Son of (Sultan) Yusef, upon whose death he succeeded to the throne. He was a member of the Alaouite Dynasty.

On 20 August 1953, the French who were occupying Morocco at the time forced Mohammed V and his family into exile on Corsica. His uncle, Mohammed Ben Aarafa, was placed on the throne. Mohammed V and his family were then transferred to Madagascar in January 1954. Mohammed V returned from exile on 16 November 1955, and was again recognized as Sultan after active opposition to the French protectorate. In February 1956 he successfully negotiated with France and Spain for the independence of Morocco, and in 1957 took the title of King.

Engraver: Edmond-Emile Lindauer


Date within small circle of doubled tri-lobe star, all within circle.

Translation: Struck in Paris ★ Moroccan State

1352 عــلـ
الدولة الغربية خن ببا ريز


Value in doubled square within circle.

Mintmark of the Paris Mint: Cornucopia
Engraver general's privy mark:
• Torch (Henry Patey, 1896-1930)
• Wing (Lucien Bazor, 1931-1958)

Translation: Moroccan Mohammedian coinage

المحمدية الشريفة


10 Francs

French Protectorate
Y# 38
Material Silver
Fineness 0.680
Weight 10 g
Diameter 26 mm
Thickness -
Shape round
Alignment Coin
Paris Mint (A)

Related coins

French Protectorate

Cupronickel, 7.1 g, ⌀ 26 mm
French Protectorate

Aluminium Bronze, 3 g, ⌀ 20 mm