Obverse. Photo © Bank of Russia
  • 10 Rubles 2018, Russia, Federation, Russian Federation, Kurgan Oblast
  • 10 Rubles 2018, Russia, Federation, Russian Federation, Kurgan Oblast

In 2005 the Central Bank of Russia commenced a series of bi-metallic 10 Rubles coins paying tribute to the regions of the Russian Federation. According to the Russian Constitution, the Russian Federation consists of republics, krais, oblasts, cities of federal importance, an autonomous oblast, and autonomous okrugs, all of which are equal subjects of the Russian Federation. Three Russian cities of federal importance have a status of both city and separate federal subject. In 1993, there were 89 federal subjects listed. By 2008, the number of federal subjects had been decreased to 83 because of several mergers. In 2014, Sevastopol and the Republic of Crimea became the 84th and 85th federal subjects of Russia.


In the center of the disc indication of the denomination of the coin: 10 RUBLES, inside of the figure 0 hidden pictures of the number 10 and of the inscription RUB visible by turns on changing angle of vision, in the lower part of the disc the mint trade mark MMD, on the ring along the rim above the inscription: BANK OF RUSSIA, below the year of issue 2018, to the left and to the right stylized twigs of plants going over to the disc.



The coat of arms of the Kurgan Oblast, the inscriptions along the rim divided by two dots: above RUSSIAN FEDERATION, below KURGAN OBLAST.

Kurgan Oblast is a federal subject of Russia (an oblast). Its administrative center is the city of Kurgan. It is located in Southern Russia and is part of the Urals Federal District. It shares borders with Chelyabinsk Oblast to the west, Sverdlovsk Oblast to the north-west, Tyumen Oblast to the north-east, and Kazakhstan to the south.

The coat of arms of the Kurgan region is a composition of several elements. The basis of the construction is a shield with a sharp tip. It reflects the historical events of the Trans-Ural region: in the 17th century, most of the settlements were fortresses. There is a wall with prongs and four apertures in the lower part of the shield. This symbol indicates the location of the Kurgan region on the border. Two hill-mounds are in the central part and the running marten is located in the lower part.

The coat of arms of the Kurgan oblast was created by Dmitry Valeryevich Ivanov. During the creation of the sketch, the artist faced the problem of a reliable image of a marten. On old coats of arms, all artists sought to reflect their own vision, sometimes not very close to reality. All animals were obtained in different ways, depending on the limitations of natural knowledge. The coat of arms of the Kurgan oblast is provided with the most realistic resemblance to a natural animal.

Artist: A. D. Schablykin



300 corrugations and the inscription ДЕСЯТЬ РУБЛЕЙ (TEN RUBLES) recurring twice and divided by asterisks.


Swap now (1 offer)
D. D.  
Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Bi-Metallic
Ring Brass
Center Cupronickel
Weight 8.4 g
Diameter 27 mm
Thickness 2.1 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Moscow Mint (MMD)

Related coins


Russian Federation

Bi-Metallic, 8.4 g, ⌀ 27 mm
Leningrad Oblast

Russian Federation

Bi-Metallic, 8.4 g, ⌀ 27 mm
Tver Oblast

Russian Federation

Bi-Metallic, 8.4 g, ⌀ 27 mm