Obverse. Photo © NumisCorner.com
  • 25 Kuna 1997, KM# 47, Croatia, Reintegration of Srem-Baranja Oblast in Croatia
  • 25 Kuna 1997, KM# 47, Croatia, Reintegration of Srem-Baranja Oblast in Croatia

The coin commemorates marking of the peaceful reintegration the Republic of Croatia territory under the United Nations Transitional Administration for Eastern Slavonia, Baranja and Western Sirmium (UNTAES). UNTAES was a UN peacekeeping mission in the eastern parts of Croatia, established by the United Nations Security Council Resolution 1037 of January 15, 1996.

The Serbian Autonomous Oblast of Eastern Slavonia, Baranja and Western Syrmia was a self-proclaimed Serbian Autonomous Oblast (SAO) in eastern Croatia, established during the Yugoslav Wars. It was one of three SAOs proclaimed on the territory of Croatia. The entity was formed on June 25, 1991, the same day the Socialist Republic of Croatia decided to withdraw from Yugoslavia, following the Croatian independence referendum, 1991. In the first phase of the Croatian War of Independence, in 1992, the oblast joined the breakaway Republic of Serbian Krajina (RSK). After the fall of Republic of Serbian Krajina in 1995, there was a short-lived Serb parallel entity Eastern Slavonia, Baranja and Western Syrmia that existed in the same area and was reintegrated with the rest of country after the signing of Erdut Agreement and the end of UNTAES.

Release date: 28 May 1997
Designer: Damir Mataušić


Depicts a map of the Croatian Danube Region with denoted Croatian towns and rivers and drawn borders of the Republic of Croatia and the neighbouring states. The base of the map makes a square which is interlaced with checkboxes in the area of the Republic of Croatia. Along the lower side of the square is written "Danube Region" and along the left side of the square, it is written "Croatian". Along the right side of a square, it is written the year of minting. Under the year, it is placed the signature of the engraver (MD).



The central part of the coin's core carries the designation of the nominal value 25. Within the numeral outlines, the figure of a pine marten running towards the right is shown; the marten's body is integrated with the numeral denoting the nominal value. In the bottom, central part of the coin's ring the coat of arms of the Republic of Croatia is impressed. A blooming laurel branch is placed in a semicircle on the left to the coat of arms, while a common oak branch with fruits is on the right. The top part of the ring carries the semicircular inscription The Republic of Croatia.

The word "kuna" means "marten" in Croatian since it is based on the use of marten pelts as units of value in medieval trading.

The martens are slender, agile animals, adapted to living in taigas, and are found in coniferous and northern deciduous forests across the Northern Hemisphere. They have bushy tails, and large paws with partially retractible claws. The fur varies from yellowish to dark brown, depending on the species, and, in many cases, is valued by fur trappers.

The coat of arms of the Republic of Croatia consists of one main shield and five smaller shields which form a crown over the main shield. The main coat of arms is a checkerboard (chequy) that consists of 13 red and 12 silver (white) fields. It's also informally known in Croatian as šahovnica ("chessboard", from šah, "chess"). The five smaller shields represent five different historical regions within Croatia.



25 Kuna

Reintegration of Srem-Baranja Oblast in Croatia

KM# 47 Schön# 60
Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Bi-Metallic
Ring Cupronickel
Center Copper Aluminum Nickel
Weight 12.75 g
Diameter 32 mm
Thickness 2.2 mm
Shape polygon
Sides 12
Alignment Medal
Croatian Monetary Institute (HNZ)

Related coins

5th Anniversary of Accession of Croatia to UN

Bi-Metallic, 12.75 g, ⌀ 32 mm
First Croatian Esperanto Congress

Bi-Metallic, 12.75 g, ⌀ 32 mm

Lisbon Expo 1998

Bi-Metallic, 12.75 g, ⌀ 32 mm