Obverse. Photo © MA-SHOPS
  • 1 Dinar 1942, KM# 31, Serbia, Republic
  • 1 Dinar 1942, KM# 31, Serbia, Republic

The Territory of the Military Commander in Serbia (1941–1944) was the area of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia that was placed under a military government of occupation by the Wehrmacht following the invasion, occupation and dismantling of Yugoslavia in April 1941. The territory included only central Serbia, with the addition of the northern part of Kosovo province, and the Banat. This territory was the only area of partitioned Yugoslavia in which the German occupants established a military government. This was due to the key rail and riverine transport routes that passed through it, and its valuable resources, particularly non-ferrous metals.

By the fall of 1944, the Eastern Front had nearly reached the territory. Most of Serbia was liberated from the Germans over the course of the Belgrade Offensive carried out by the Red Army, Yugoslav Partisans and Bulgarian forces. With the onset of the Belgrade Offensive by the Red Army and the Partisans, the administration was evacuated from Serbia to Vienna in October 1944.


Depicts a coat of arms of Serbia without a crown over the double-headed eagle. Country name "Serbia" below.

The coat of arms consists of two main heraldic symbols which represent the national identity of the Serbian people across the centuries, the Serbian eagle (a white double-headed eagle adopted from the Nemanjić dynasty) and the Serbian cross.

The Serbian cross, a national symbol of Serbia, based on the tetragrammic cross emblem/flag of the Byzantine Palaiologos dynasty. It is composed of a cross symbol with four stylized letters "S" (С) in Cyrillic on each of its corners, heraldically referred-to as "firesteels", which historically originate as the Greek letters beta (β–Β).



Value and date within oat sprigs. Mintmark (БП) below.



1 Dinar

German Occupation
KM# 31 Schön# 10
Material Zinc
Weight 3.11 g
Diameter 20 mm
Thickness -
Shape round
Alignment Coin
Budapest Mint (BP)

Related coins

2nd Coat of Arms, Magnetic

Steel Plated Copper, 4.2 g, ⌀ 20 mm