Obverse. Photo © Stack's Bowers Galleries
  • 1 Thaler 1679-1686, KM# 1303.1, Austria, Habsburg Monarchy, Leopold I
  • 1 Thaler 1679-1686, KM# 1303.1, Austria, Habsburg Monarchy, Leopold I

The Habsburg Monarchy or Empire is an unofficial appellation among historians for the countries and provinces that were ruled by the junior Austrian branch of the House of Habsburg between 1521 and 1780 and then by the successor branch of Habsburg-Lorraine until 1918. The Monarchy was a composite state composed of territories within and outside the Holy Roman Empire, united only in the person of the monarch. The dynastic capital was Vienna, except from 1583 to 1611, when it was moved to Prague. From 1804 to 1867 the Habsburg Monarchy was formally unified as the Austrian Empire, and from 1867 to 1918 as the Austro-Hungarian Empire. The head of the Austrian branch of the House of Habsburg was often elected Holy Roman Emperor: from 1415 until the Empire's dissolution in 1806.


Laureate armored bust of Leopold I right (depicting his protruding lower jaw), the top of the head touches the rim, inner circle continuous below, surrounded by his Latin titles ("Leopold, by the Grace of God, Emperor of the Romans, always August, King of Germany, Hungary, and Bohemia").

Leopold I (1640–1705) was Holy Roman Emperor, King of Hungary, Croatia, and Bohemia. The second son of Ferdinand III, Holy Roman Emperor, by his first wife, Maria Anna of Spain, Leopold became heir apparent in 1654 by the death of his elder brother Ferdinand IV. Elected in 1658, Leopold ruled the Holy Roman Empire until his death in 1705.

Leopold's reign is known for conflicts with the Ottoman Empire in the east and rivalry with Louis XIV, a contemporary and first cousin, in the west. After more than a decade of warfare, Leopold emerged victorious from the Great Turkish War thanks to the military talents of Prince Eugene of Savoy. By the Treaty of Karlowitz, Leopold recovered almost all of the Kingdom of Hungary, which had fallen under Turkish power in the years after the 1526 Battle of Mohács.

Leopold fought three wars against France: the Franco-Dutch War, the Nine Years' War, and the War of the Spanish Succession. In this last, Leopold sought to give his younger son the entire Spanish inheritance, disregarding the will of the late Charles II. Leopold started a war that soon engulfed much of Europe. The early years of the war went fairly well for Austria, with victories at Schellenberg and Blenheim, but the war would drag on till 1714, nine years after Leopold's death, which barely had an effect on the warring nations. When peace returned, Austria could not be said to have emerged as triumphant as it had from the war against the Turks.



Crowned shield with small centered shield of Tyrol, within round Order of the Golden Fleece collar, surrounded by Latin inscriptions describing the date and titles held by Leopold I ("Archduke of Austria, Duke of Burgundy, Count of Tyrol").

The Order of the Golden Fleece is a Roman Catholic order of chivalry founded in Bruges by the Burgundian duke Philip the Good in 1430, to celebrate his marriage to the Portuguese princess Isabella. It became one of the most prestigious orders in Europe. Today, two branches of the Order exist, namely the Spanish and the Austrian Fleece; the current grand masters are Felipe VI, King of Spain, and Karl von Habsburg, grandson of Emperor Charles I of Austria, respectively.


Edge -

1 Thaler

KM# 1303.1 Dav# 3241
Material Silver
Weight 29 g
Diameter 42 mm
Thickness -
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Hall Mint

Related coins

Silver, 28.8 g, ⌀ 42 mm

Silver, 28.4 g, ⌀ 44 mm