• 5 Pesos 2018, Argentina, 2018 Football (Soccer) World Cup in Russia
  • 5 Pesos 2018, Argentina, 2018 Football (Soccer) World Cup in Russia

The 2018 FIFA World Cup will be the 21st FIFA World Cup, a quadrennial international football tournament contested by the men's national teams of the member associations of FIFA. It is scheduled to take place in Russia from 14 June to 15 July 2018. This will be the first World Cup ever held in Eastern Europe, and the first held in Europe since 2006.

The 20 World Cup tournaments have been won by eight different national teams. Brazil have won five times, and they are the only team to have played in every tournament. The other World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, with four titles each; Argentina and inaugural winner Uruguay, with two titles each; and England, France and Spain, with one title each. The current champion is Germany, which won its fourth title at the 2014 tournament in Brazil.

The World Cup is the most prestigious association football tournament in the world as well as the most widely viewed and followed sporting event in the world, exceeding even the Olympic Games; the cumulative audience of all matches of the 2006 FIFA World Cup was estimated to be 26.29 billion with an estimated 715.1 million people watching the final match, a ninth of the entire population of the planet.


Stamp of player in motion with soccer ball, surrounded by a legend.

The main impression of the obverse, with repetition silhouette, which prints the wake player in the air while dominating the ball in his race for field creating the illusion of speed.



Depicts a part of a playing field, in the center the country name (Republica Argentina) flanked by two stars that symbolize the Argentine triumphs in the world championships of that sport of 1978 and 1986; in the exergue presents the facial value "5 PESOS" followed by the year of coinage "2018".

Argentina's national football team, also known as the Albicelestes, has appeared in five World Cup finals, including the first final in 1930, which they lost 4–2 to Uruguay. Argentina won in their next final appearance in 1978, beating the Netherlands at extra time, 3–1. Argentina, led by Diego Maradona won again in 1986, a 3–2 victory over West Germany. They again made the World Cup finals in 1990, and lost 1–0 to West Germany following a controversial penalty call in the 87th minute. Argentina, led by Lionel Messi made their fifth appearance in a World Cup final in 2014, again losing to Germany, 1–0 during extra-time.

5 PESOS • 2018

Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Silver
Fineness 0.925
Weight 27 g
Diameter 40 mm
Thickness -
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Casa de Moneda (Argentina) (CMSE)

Related coins

4th portrait

2018 Football (Soccer) World Cup in Russia

Silver, 31.1 g, ⌀ 40 mm
4th portrait

2018 Football (Soccer) World Cup in Russia

Gold, 7.78 g, ⌀ 21.69 mm