• 15 Cents 1974-2005, KM# 62, Bahamas
  • 15 Cents 1974-2005, KM# 62, Bahamas

The Bahamas is an archipelagic state within the Lucayan Archipelago. It consists of more than 700 islands, cays, and islets in the Atlantic Ocean, and is located north of Cuba and Hispaniola (Haiti and the Dominican Republic), northwest of the Turks and Caicos Islands, southeast of the United States state of Florida, and east of the Florida Keys. The capital is Nassau on the island of New Providence.

The Bahamas is the site of Columbus' first landfall in the New World in 1492. The Bahamas became a British crown colony in 1718, when the British clamped down on piracy. After the American War of Independence, the Crown resettled thousands of American Loyalists in the Bahamas; they brought their slaves with them and established plantations on land grants. Africans constituted the majority of the population from this period. The Bahamas became an independent Commonwealth realm in 1973, retaining the British monarch, then and currently Queen Elizabeth II, as its head of state.

Engraver: Arnold Machin


Coat of arms and motto of the Bahamas.

The Coat of Arms of the Bahamas contains a shield with the national symbols as its focal point. The escutcheon (shield) is supported by a marlin and flamingo. The crest on top of the helm (helmet) is a conch shell, which represents the varied marine life of the island chain. Below the helm is the escutcheon itself, whose main charge is a ship, reputed to represent the Santa María of Christopher Columbus. It is sailing beneath a sun in the chief. The animals supporting the shield are the national animals, and the national motto is found at the bottom. The flamingo is located upon land, and the marlin upon sea, indicating the geography of the islands.

The Coat of Arms was approved by Queen Elizabeth II on 7 December 1971. It was designed by Bahamian artist and clergyman, Dr. Hervis L. Bain, Jr.



Hibiscus, value divided at bottom. Mintmark (if any): FM (on the bottom).

Hibiscus is a genus of flowering plants in the mallow family, Malvaceae. The genus is quite large, comprising several hundred species that are native to warm temperate, subtropical and tropical regions throughout the world. Member species are renowned for their large, showy flowers and those species are commonly known simply as "hibiscus", or less widely known as rose mallow. A tea made from hibiscus flowers is known by many names around the world and is served both hot and cold. The beverage is known for its red color, tart flavor, and vitamin C content.

• • • FIFTEEN • CENTS • • •


15 Cents

KM# 62 Schön# 37
Material Cupronickel
Weight 6.5 g
Diameter 25 mm
Width -
Height -
Thickness 2 mm
Shape square
Alignment Medal
Franklin Mint (FM)
Royal Mint

Related coins

Brass, 3.11 g, ⌀ 19.05 mm

Copper Plated Zinc, 2.5 g, ⌀ 19 mm

Cupronickel, 2.82 g, ⌀ 19.4 mm