Obverse. Photo © World Coin Shop
  • 10 Cents 2002, KM# 269, South Africa
  • 10 Cents 2002, KM# 269, South Africa

New national coat of arms for South Africa (adopted on 27 April 2000), the country name in Tsonga language, date above.

The Coat of Arms has many elements organized into two oval groups, one on top of the other. Together the two ovals create a symbol of infinity.

The Lower or Foundation Oval:
At the base is the motto "Diverse People Unite" written in the Khoisan language of the ǀXam people. On either side of the motto, pairs of elephant tusks. The tusks enclose two ears of wheat. At the centre is a shield. On the shield are depicted two Khoisan figures. The Khoisan are the oldest inhabitants of South Africa. The figures on the shield are based on the Linton Panel (a world-famous piece of rock art now housed in the South African Museum in Cape Town), and face each other in greeting and unity. Above the shield, a crossed spear and knobkierie (a traditional fighting stick) separate the lower oval from the upper oval.

The Upper or Ascendant Oval
At the centre is the South African National Flower, the King Protea. It is comprised of interlocking diamonds. The protea forms the chest of the secretary bird, whose head and wings stretch out above it. Between its wings, the rising sun.

Engraver: Arthur Sutherland

Afrika- ALS Dzonga


Arum lily and value.

The Arum Lily (Zantedeschia Aethiopica) is a distinguished South African flower. It is also known as the white calla lily, aronskelk or varkblom (pig lily). The latter name is due to the fact that the plant’s nutritious rootstock is favoured by pigs and to some extent by porcupines. The plant is also used medicinally in various ways. The white Arum Lily can be evergreen or deciduous, depending on how much water is gets. The spathe (flower) varies in colour from white to cream and a green and white variation is also found in semi shaded areas.

It originally appeared on the 50c coin from 1965 to 1989, as part of South Africa’s second decimal series. In 1989 the third decimal coin series was introduced and the Arum Lily was selected for the 10c coin.

The design was developed from the original artwork by Cynthna Letty.

Engraver: Robert Campbell McFarlane



10 Cents

KM# 269 Hern# Nd14 Schön# 307
Material Bronze Plated Steel
Weight 2 g
Diameter 16 mm
Thickness 1.6 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
South African Mint (SA Mint)

Related coins


Nickel, 4 g, ⌀ 20.7 mm

Nickel, 4 g, ⌀ 20.7 mm

Nickel, 4 g, ⌀ 20.7 mm