The Ionian Islands are a group of islands in Greece. They are traditionally called the Heptanese, i.e. "the Seven Islands": Corfu, Paxos, Lefkas, Ithaca, Kefalonia, Zakynthos and Cythera.

The Treaty of Paris in 1815 turned the islands into the United States of the Ionian Islands, a state and amical protectorate of the United Kingdom. On 29 March 1864, representatives of the United Kingdom, Greece, France, and Russia signed the Treaty of London, pledging the transfer of sovereignty to Greece. Thus, on 28 May the Ionian Islands were united with Greece.

Alignment-related varieties and dot-related varieties exist.

Engraver: William Wyon


Depicts the winged lion of Saint Mark facing to left holding Bible and seven arrows, around above in Greek the inscription "Ionian State", date below.

The United States of the Ionian Islands was made up of seven principal islands, these islands are represented by the seven arrows held by the winged lion of St. Mark (a Venetian symbol reflecting the Venetian control of the islands from 1401 until 1797).

Saint Mark the Evangelist is the traditionally ascribed author of the Gospel of Mark. Mark is said to have founded the Church of Alexandria, one of the most important episcopal sees of Early Christianity.



Britannia seated facing right wearing a helmet and breastplate with flowing dress; she holds a trident and rests her right hand on a shield which bears the combined crosses of the Union Flag.

The archetypical image of Britannia seated with a shield first appeared on Roman bronze coins of the 1st century AD struck under Hadrian.



1 Lepton

KM# 34
Material Copper
Weight 1.78 g
Diameter 16.5 mm
Thickness -
Shape round
Alignment Coin
Royal Mint

Related coins

Estonian Nature

Silver, 24.5 g, ⌀ 38.61 mm
2nd portrait

Cupronickel, 10.76 g, ⌀ 31 mm
World Food Day

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

Silver, 34.7 g, ⌀ 44 mm