Obverse. Photo © NumisCorner.com
  • 5 Yeni Kuruş 2005-2008, KM# 1165, Turkey
  • 5 Yeni Kuruş 2005-2008, KM# 1165, Turkey

In the transitional period between 1 January 2005 and 31 December 2008, the second Turkish lira was officially called "new Turkish lira" in Turkey. Coins were introduced in 2005 in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 new (yeni) kuruş and 1 new (yeni) Turkish lira. All coins show portraits of Mustafa Kemal Atatürk.


Head of Atatürk left in a circle surrounded by the country name "Republic of Turkey".

Mustafa Kemal Atatürk (1881–1938) was a Turkish army officer, revolutionary, and founder of the Republic of Turkey, serving as its first President from 1923 until his death in 1938. His surname, Atatürk (meaning "Father of the Turks"), was granted to him in 1934.



Value and date, star and crescent (right) above.

The star and crescent is an iconographic symbol used in various historical contexts but most well known today as a symbol of the former Ottoman Empire and, by popular extension, the Islamic world. The Republic of Turkey has no official national emblem, but the star and crescent (Turkish: ay-yıldız "crescent-star") design from the national flag is in use as de facto emblem, among other things printed on Turkish passports, on Turkish identity cards and diplomatic missions of Turkey.



5 Yeni Kuruş

KM# 1165 Schön# 735
Material Copper Nickel Zinc
Weight 2.95 g
Diameter 17 mm
Thickness 1.7 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Turkish State Mint

Related coins

Aluminium Bronze, 6.15 g, ⌀ 24 mm

Nickel Plated Nickel Brass, 10.3 g, ⌀ 28.5 mm

Brass, 6 g, ⌀ 19.48 mm