• 1 Yeni Lira 2005-2008, KM# 1169, Turkey
  • 1 Yeni Lira 2005-2008, KM# 1169, Turkey

In the transitional period between 1 January 2005 and 31 December 2008, the second Turkish lira was officially called "new Turkish lira" in Turkey. Coins were introduced in 2005 in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 new (yeni) kuruş and 1 new (yeni) Turkish lira. All coins show portraits of Mustafa Kemal Atatürk.


Bust of Atatürk 3/4 left in a circle surrounded by the country name "Republic of Turkey".

Mustafa Kemal Atatürk (1881–1938) was a Turkish army officer, revolutionary, and founder of the Republic of Turkey, serving as its first President from 1923 until his death in 1938. His surname, Atatürk (meaning "Father of the Turks"), was granted to him in 1934.



Denomination, date below, star and crescent (right) above.

The star and crescent is an iconographic symbol used in various historical contexts but most well known today as a symbol of the former Ottoman Empire and, by popular extension, the Islamic world. The Republic of Turkey has no official national emblem, but the star and crescent (Turkish: ay-yıldız "crescent-star") design from the national flag is in use as de facto emblem, among other things printed on Turkish passports, on Turkish identity cards and diplomatic missions of Turkey.



Alternating plain and milled segments (8 each)

1 Yeni Lira

KM# 1169 Schön# 739
Swap now (1 offer)
Material Bi-Metallic
Ring Copper Nickel Zinc
Center Nickel Bronze
Weight 8.5 g
Diameter 26.15 mm
Thickness 1.9 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Turkish State Mint

Related coins

Aluminium Bronze, 6.15 g, ⌀ 24 mm

Nickel Plated Nickel Brass, 10.3 g, ⌀ 28.5 mm

Brass, 6 g, ⌀ 19.48 mm