• 10 Réis 1865-1866, KM# 14, Azores, Luís I
  • 10 Réis 1865-1866, KM# 14, Azores, Luís I

The Azorean real, also known as the Azorean Moeda Insulana (Insular Currency) was the currency of the Portuguese archipelago of the Azores, used until 1931.

Dom Luís I (1838–1889) was a member of the House of Braganza, and King of Portugal and the Algarves from 1861 to 1889. Luís was a cultured man who wrote vernacular poetry, but had no distinguishing gifts in the political field into which he was thrust by the deaths of his brothers Pedro V and Fernando in 1861.


Depicts a crowned personal standard of the Kings of Portugal with the legend "Luís I by the grace of God".

The Portuguese shield (the Cinco Quinas or Five Quinas, a quina being each of the five escutcheons in form of a cross with five bezants) resting in front is composed of seven golden castles, which represent the Moorish castles conquered during the Reconquista. In the late 14th century, the number of bezants was fixed in five. Late explanations interpret them as the five wounds of Jesus Christ.

The Crown of João VI, also known as the Portuguese Royal Crown is the most recent and only extant crown of the Portuguese Crown Jewels. It was made in 1817 for the acclamation of King João VI. The crown was fashioned in the workshop of D. Antonio Gomes da Silva, the Royal Jeweler. It then became the official crown of the monarchs of Portugal and was used by all the Portuguese monarchs after João VI. Though serving as the monarchy's official symbol, the crown was never actually worn by any Portuguese monarch.



Wreath contains value and date surrounded by the inscription "King of Portugal and the Algarves".



10 Réis

Portuguese Administration
KM# 14 AG# L1 02
Material Copper
Weight 6.29 g
Diameter 30 mm
Thickness 1.2 mm
Shape round
Alignment Coin
Alt # AG# L1 02.01, AG# L1 02.02
Casa da Moeda de Lisboa

Related coins

Copper Plated Steel, 3.92 g, ⌀ 21.25 mm
1st map

Nordic Gold, 4.1 g, ⌀ 19.75 mm
1st map

Nordic Gold, 5.74 g, ⌀ 22.25 mm