Eino Leino (Armas Einar Leopold Lönnbohm, 6 July 1878 – 10 January 1926) was a Finnish poet and journalist and is considered one of the pioneers of Finnish poetry. His poems combine modern and Finnish folk elements. The style of much of his work is like the Kalevala and folk songs. Leino published over 70 books of poems and stories. In addition to writing poetry, Eino Leino wrote in newspapers about theatre and culture in general, and translated works of important writers such as Runeberg and Goethe. He was the first person in Finland to translate Dante's Divine Comedy into Finnish. Nature, love, and despair are frequent themes in Leino's work. He is beloved and widely read in Finland today.

In 2016, 100 years will have passed from the publication of the two-part poetry anthology Helkavirsiä (1903 and 1916), ranked amongst Leino's most influential work. Eino Leino and the Day of Poetry and Summer are celebrated with a national flag day on 6 July.

Issue date: 25.4.2016.


A stylized profile image of Eino Leino, with figurative flames extending upward to represent his artistic vitality. His signature, Eino Leino, is inscribed near the rim.

Logo of the Mint of Finland is a lion. Designer is Pertti Mäkinen.

Eino Leino


Map of Europe with the denomination shown in Latin characters.
Designer Luc Luycx (LL).



The edge reads SUOMI FINLAND (the name of the country in Finnish and Swedish, its two official languages) and contains three lion heads.


Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Bi-Metallic
Ring Cupronickel
Center Nickel Brass
Weight 8.5 g
Diameter 25.75 mm
Thickness 2.2 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Mint of Finland

Related coins

Eino Leino

Gold, 5.65 g, ⌀ 22 mm