• 1 Peso 1960, KM# 58, Argentina, 150th Anniversary of the May Revolution
  • 1 Peso 1960, KM# 58, Argentina, 150th Anniversary of the May Revolution

The May Revolution (Spanish: Revolución de Mayo) was a week-long series of events that took place from May 18 to 25, 1810, in Buenos Aires, capital of the Viceroyalty of the Río de la Plata. This Spanish colony included roughly the territories of present-day Argentina, Bolivia, Paraguay, Uruguay, and parts of Brazil. The result was the removal of Viceroy Baltasar Hidalgo de Cisneros and the establishment of a local government, the Primera Junta (First Junta), on May 25. It was the first successful revolution in the South American Independence process.

May 25 is a national day in Argentina, known as First Patriotic Government, with the character of a public holiday. By 1880, the federalization of Buenos Aires removed the local connotations and the May Revolution was considered the birth of the nation.


Coat of arms within a laurel wreath, name of the country above, value below.

Argentina does not use proper heraldic arms, but the emblem, which is commonly referred to as a coat of arms. At the top is the golden Sun of May, signifying Argentina as a new and glorious nation rising to the surface of the Earth. The cap at the top of the spike is the Phrygian cap symbolizing liberty. The spike under the cap represents the people's willingness to defend their land and protect their liberties. The two shaking hands symbolize the unity of the different provinces of Argentina.

The Sun of May is a national emblem of Argentina. It is the radiant golden yellow sun bearing the human face and thirty-two rays that alternate between sixteen straight and sixteen wavies. It is a figurative sun that represents Inti, the sun god of the Inca religion. The specification "of May" is a reference to the May Revolution which took place in the week from 18 to 25 May 1810, which marked the beginning of the independence from the Spanish Empire for the countries that were part of the Viceroyalty of the Río de la Plata by then.



Depicts the Buenos Aires Cabildo, the place where the First National Government took place the 25th May 1810, dates "25th of May" above and "1810-1960" below, in front of the rising sun with 10 straight and 8 wavy rays around tower above the entrance, surrounded by a wreath.

A generic image of the Buenos Aires Cabildo is used in different variants to honor the May Revolution. A representation of a cabildo is used on Argentine 25-cent coins, and an image of the Sun of May appears on the 5-cent coin. An image of the Cabildo during the Revolution appeared on the back of the 5-peso banknote of the former peso moneda nacional.



1 Peso

150th Anniversary of the May Revolution

KM# 58 Schön# 58 CJ# 274
Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Nickel Clad Steel
Weight 6.5 g
Diameter 25.5 mm
Thickness 2 mm
Shape round
Alignment Coin
Alt # CJ# 274.1, CJ# 274.2
Casa de Moneda (Argentina) (CMSE)

Related coins

Nickel Clad Steel, 6.5 g, ⌀ 26 mm

Aluminium, 2.2 g, ⌀ 23 mm

Bi-Metallic, 6.35 g, ⌀ 23 mm