Obverse. Photo © Heritage Auctions
  • 6 Pence 1937-1947, KM# 27, South Africa, George VI
  • 6 Pence 1937-1947, KM# 27, South Africa, George VI

The Union of South Africa is the historic predecessor to the present-day Republic of South Africa. It came into being on 31 May 1910 with the unification of four previously separate British colonies: the Cape, Natal, Transvaal and Orange River colonies. It included the territories formerly part of the Boer republics annexed in 1902, the South African Republic and the Orange Free State.

The Union of South Africa was a self-governing autonomous dominion of the British Empire. It was governed under a form of constitutional monarchy, with the Crown represented by a governor-general. The Union came to an end with the enactment of a new constitution on 31 May 1961, by which it became a republic and temporarily left the Commonwealth, under the new name Republic of South Africa.


Bare head of the King George VI facing left, surrounded by the abbreviated translation of “George VI King and Emperor”.

George VI (1895–1952) was King of the United Kingdom and the Dominions of the British Commonwealth from 11 December 1936 until his death. He was the last Emperor of India and the first Head of the Commonwealth.

As the second son of King George V, he was not expected to inherit the throne and spent his early life in the shadow of his elder brother, Edward. George's elder brother ascended the throne as Edward VIII upon the death of their father in 1936. However, later that year Edward revealed his desire to marry divorced American socialite Wallis Simpson. British Prime Minister Stanley Baldwin advised Edward that for political and religious reasons he could not marry a divorced woman and remain king. Edward abdicated in order to marry, and George ascended the throne as the third monarch of the House of Windsor.

Engraver: Thomas Humphrey Paget



A king protea in center of 6 bundles poles surrounded by the state name in English and Afrikaans. Date above, value below.

The king protea is a flowering plant, a distinctive member of Protea, having the largest flower head in the genus. It is widely distributed in the southwestern and southern parts of South Africa in the fynbos region. The king protea is the national flower of South Africa. It also is the flagship of the Protea Atlas Project, run by the South African National Botanical Institute.

The symbol 'D' for pence derives from the Latin denarius used in the Middle Ages.

Engraver: George Kruger Gray



6 Pence

British Dominion
KM# 27 Hern# S174-184
Material Silver
Fineness 0.800
Weight 2.83 g
Diameter 19.35 mm
Thickness 1.3 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Alt # Hern# S174, Hern# S181, Hern# S184, Hern# S183, Hern# S182, Hern# S180, Hern# S179, Hern# S178, Hern# S177, Hern# S176, Hern# S175
Royal Mint

Related coins

Silver, 3.8 g, ⌀ 21 mm
3rd portrait, King George VI and the Queen Mother

85th Anniversary of Birth of the Queen Mother

Cupronickel, 28.28 g, ⌀ 38.61 mm
3rd portrait, Royal Wedding

85th Anniversary of Birth of the Queen Mother

Cupronickel, 28.28 g, ⌀ 38.61 mm