Obverse. Photo © MA-Shops
  • 1 Pfennig 1948-1949, KM# A101, Germany, Federal Republic
  • 1 Pfennig 1948-1949, KM# A101, Germany, Federal Republic

West Germany is the common English name for the Federal Republic of Germany or FRG (German: Bundesrepublik Deutschland or BRD) in the period between its creation on 23 May 1949 to German reunification on 3 October 1990. During this Cold War era, NATO-aligned West Germany and Warsaw Pact-aligned East Germany were divided by the Inner German border. After 1961 West Berlin was physically separated from East Berlin as well as from East Germany by the Berlin Wall. This situation ended when East Germany was dissolved and its five states joined the ten states of the Federal Republic of Germany along with the reunified city-state of Berlin. With the reunification of West and East Germany, the Federal Republic of Germany, enlarged now to sixteen states, became known simply as "Germany". This period is referred to as the Bonn Republic (Bonner Republik) by historians, alluding to the interwar Weimar Republic and the post-reunification Berlin Republic.

Engraver: Adolf Jaeger


Depicts an oak sprig, inscription "Bank of the German States" above, date below.

Oak leaves, used as a symbol for many centuries, have featured on coins in Germany since the Munich Coin Treaty of 1837. This was an agreement between states in southern and central Germany establishing a common currency area.

The Bank deutscher Länder (Bank of the German States), abbreviation BdL, was the forerunner of the Deutsche Bundesbank. It was founded on 1 March 1948. The main task of the BdL was to manage currency policy in the American and British occupation zones in Germany (Bizone). On 21 June 1948 the Bank deutscher Länder introduced the Deutsche Mark currency in the three western zones of occupation. On 1 November 1948, state central banks in the French zone, which had adopted Deutsche Mark in June too, joined the BdL. In May 1949 the Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany) was founded, however, the BdL remained subject to the control of the three Western Allied powers—the United States, the United Kingdom and France until 1951. Later, BdL became an independent agency of the West German states, similar to the concept of independence displayed by the Federal Reserve System in the United States.



Facial value between two rye ears, mintmark above.



Copper plating partly stretched over a steel core

1 Pfennig

KM# A101 Schön# 99 Jaeger# 376
Material Copper Clad Steel
Weight 2 g
Diameter 16.5 mm
Thickness 1.38 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Bavarian Central Mint (D)
Hamburg Mint (J)
Karlsruhe State Mint (G)
Stuttgart State Mint (F)

Related coins

Copper Clad Steel, 2 g, ⌀ 16.5 mm