Obverse. Photo © Monetnik.ru
  • 2 Euro 2021, Lithuania, Lithuanian Ethnographic Regions, Dzūkija
  • 2 Euro 2021, Lithuania, Lithuanian Ethnographic Regions, Dzūkija

Bank of Lithuania in 2019 started "Lithuanian Ethnographic Regions" series of coins dedicated to Lithuanian ethnographic regions. The coin of Dzūkija was the third one.

Lithuania can be divided into historical and cultural regions (called ethnographic regions). The exact borders are not fully clear, as the regions are not official political or administrative units. They are delimited by culture, such as country traditions, traditional lifestyle, songs, tales, etc. No region, except for Samogitia, has ever been a political or an administrative entity. Despite the fact that the regions are not political/administrative entities, most regions have their "capitals" (cities which are commonly considered to be capitals). These cities are not necessarily the largest in the region.

Dzūkija or Dainava is one of five ethnographic regions of Lithuania. Traditionally, Alytus is regarded as the capital of the region, although it is not the largest city in Dzūkija (because Vilnius vicinities lost Lithuanian language centuries ago).


Depicts a coat of arms of Dzūkija. The coat of arms placed on a beam is held by two lynxes. Below hangs a ribbon with a Latin inscription HARD-WORKING PEOPLE FROM A FIERCE TRIBE. The composition is surrounded by inscriptions LIETUVA (LITHUANIA) and DZŪKIJA, the year of issue (2021) and the mintmark of the Lithuanian Mint. The coin’s outer ring bears the 12 stars of the European Union flag.

The coat of arms of Dzūkija pictures a white armoured warrior with a pollaxe in a blue shield. The grand coat of arms is supported by two lynxes and has a Latin motto Ex gente bellicosissima populus laboriosus (Out of most warring tribe – industrious people). These symbols were created by heraldic artist Arvydas Každailis in 2003 using the historical symbols of Trakai. Dzūkija was part of the Duchy of Trakai and later Trakai Voivodeship from the 14th to late 18th century. The same image was used for the coat of arms of Alytus County, officially adopted in 2004. The coat of arms is a modified version of the coat of arms of Trakai district, which depicts a knight with a spear in a red shield. This symbol was taken from a seal used by Duke of Trakai Kęstutis (died in 1382). The motto honors the memory of the Yotvingians, one of the ancient Baltic tribes which were considered fine warriors that lived in what is now Dzūkija.

Engraver: Rolandas Rimkūnas



A geographical map of Western Europe spans the outer ring and inner core on the right side of the coin. The inscription 2 EURO is superimposed over the map of Europe, with the numeral “2” located in an open field representing the eastern Atlantic Ocean.

12 stars are located on the right side of the outer ring, with six stars atop the map of Europe and six stars below it; six vertical stripes cut across the inner core of the coin, visually connecting the upper and lower star segments.

Luc Luycx, a designer at the Royal Belgian Mint, designed the Euro’s common reverse; his initials, LL, are seen on the right side of the design, just under the “O” in “EURO.”



'Freedom, Unity, Prosperity' in Lithuanian


Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Bi-Metallic
Ring Cupronickel
Center Nickel Brass
Weight 8.5 g
Diameter 25.75 mm
Thickness 2.2 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Lithuanian Mint (LMK)

Related coins


Lithuanian Ethnographic Regions

Bi-Metallic, 8.5 g, ⌀ 25.75 mm

Lithuanian Ethnographic Regions

Bi-Metallic, 8.5 g, ⌀ 25.75 mm

Lithuanian Ethnographic Regions

Bi-Metallic, 8.5 g, ⌀ 25.75 mm