• 2 Dinara 2009-2011, KM# 49, Serbia, Republic
  • 2 Dinara 2009-2011, KM# 49, Serbia, Republic

Depicts coat of arms of Serbia (with curved bottom of top crown, 2004–2010) surrounded by the country name (above) and an abbreviation of the National Bank of Serbia (NBS) written in Latin and Cyrillic letters.

The coat of arms of Serbia is a re-introduction of the coat of arms of the Kingdom of Serbia (1882–1918) adopted by the Republic of Serbia in 2004 and later slightly redesigned in 2010. The coat of arms consists of two main heraldic symbols which represent the national identity of the Serbian people across the centuries, the Serbian eagle (a white double-headed eagle adopted from the Nemanjić dynasty) and the Serbian cross. Although Serbia is now a republic, the coat of arms features the royal crown of the former monarchy.

The Serbian cross is a national symbol of Serbia, part of the coat of arms and flag of Serbia, and of the Serbian Orthodox Church. It is based on the tetragrammic cross emblem/flag of the Byzantine Palaiologos dynasty. It is composed of a cross symbol with four stylized letters "S" (С) in Cyrillic on each of its corners, heraldically referred-to as "firesteels", which historically originate as the Greek letters beta (β–Β).



Nominal value of the coin in large figure and in letters, relief of Gračanica Monastery, year of minting.

Gračanica Monastery is a Serbian Orthodox monastery located in Gračanica, a Serbian enclave in Kosovo. Gračanica was constructed on the ruins of an older 13th-century church of the Holy Virgin, which itself was built on the ruins of a 6th-century early Christian three-naved basilica. It was built by the Serbian king Stefan Milutin in 1321.

Gračanica represents the culmination of the Medieval Serbian art of building in the Serbo-Byzantine tradition. The church has the form of a double inscribed cross, one inside the other, the inner one providing for a vertical silhouette so as to raise the central dome upwards on a graded elaboration of masses. The dome rests on four free-standing pillars. Above the spaces between the cross-shafts, four smaller domes give a regular structure to the whole crowning complex.



Alternately reeded and plain (5 each)

2 Dinara

1st Coat of Arms, Magnetic
KM# 49 Schön# 190a
Material Brass Plated Steel
Weight 5.05 g
Diameter 22 mm
Thickness -
Shape round
Alignment Medal

Related coins

German Occupation

Zinc, 3.61 g, ⌀ 22 mm
2nd Coat of Arms, Magnetic

Steel Plated Copper, 5.05 g, ⌀ 22 mm