Obverse. Photo © Bank of Russia
  • 10 Rubles 2022, CBR# 5714-0074, Russia, Federation, Russian Federation, Karachay-Cherkess Republic
  • 10 Rubles 2022, CBR# 5714-0074, Russia, Federation, Russian Federation, Karachay-Cherkess Republic

In 2005 the Central Bank of Russia commenced a series of bi-metallic 10 Rubles coins paying tribute to the regions of the Russian Federation. According to the Russian Constitution, the Russian Federation consists of republics, krais, oblasts, cities of federal importance, an autonomous oblast, and autonomous okrugs, all of which are equal subjects of the Russian Federation. Three Russian cities of federal importance have a status of both city and separate federal subject. In 1993, there were 89 federal subjects listed. By 2008, the number of federal subjects had been decreased to 83 because of several mergers. In 2014, Sevastopol and the Republic of Crimea became the 84th and 85th federal subjects of Russia.


Depicts in the centre the denomination 10 RUBLES, inside the figure ‘0’ hidden images of the number ‘10’ and the inscription RUB visible by turns when the angle of vision changes, below a mint trade mark of the Moscow Mint; on the ring above an inscription BANK OF RUSSIA, below the year ‘2022’, on the left and on the right stylised images of plant branches going over to the disc.



Depicts the coat of arms of the Karachay-Cherkess Republic, the inscriptions along the rim divided by two dots: above RUSSIAN FEDERATION, below KARACHAY-CHERKESS REPUBLIC.

The Karachay-Cherkess Republic or Karachay-Cherkessia is a federal subject (a republic) of Russia. It is geographically located in the North Caucasus region of Southern Russia and is administratively part of the North Caucasian Federal District. Cherkessk is the largest city and the capital of the Republic. Karachay-Cherkessia is one of Russia's ethnic republics, primarily representing the indigenous Turkic Karachay people and the Cherkess or Circassian people. Mount Elbrus, the highest mountain in Europe, is located on the border with Kabardino-Balkaria.

The republic's coat of arms is round-shaped with yellow background symbolizing sunny Karachay-Cherkessia. The mountain in the centre stands for Elbrus – the symbol of eternity, power and greatness. The outline of Elbrus lies on the blue circle representing the blue sky and waters. On both sides of the circle, there are rhododendrons – an emblem of peace, health and purity.

Designer: A. D. Schablykin



300 corrugations and the inscription TEN RUBLES recurring twice and divided by asterisks


10 Rubles

Russian Federation
Karachay-Cherkess Republic

Subscribe series
CBR# 5714-0074
Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Bi-Metallic
Ring Brass
Center Cupronickel
Weight 8.4 g
Diameter 27 mm
Thickness 2.1 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Moscow Mint (MMD)

Related coins


Russian Federation

Bi-Metallic, 8.4 g, ⌀ 27 mm
Leningrad Oblast

Russian Federation

Bi-Metallic, 8.4 g, ⌀ 27 mm
Tver Oblast

Russian Federation

Bi-Metallic, 8.4 g, ⌀ 27 mm