Cairo University, also known as the Egyptian University from 1908 to 1940, and King Fuad I University and Fu'ād al-Awwal University from 1940 to 1952, is Egypt's premier public university. Its main campus is in Giza, immediately across the Nile from Cairo. It was founded on 21 December 1908.

The Faculty of Law, Cairo University, is one of the leading colleges in Egypt and the Middle East. It is the first law faculty established in Egypt in 1868 during the reign of Khedive Ismail under the name "School of Administration and Languages", and since its inception it was - and still is - the mother college for all law faculties in Egypt.


Depicts the logo of the Faculty of Law at Cairo University (the scales of justice) right, 150 years left, the Dome of Cairo University in background, the inscriptions "Faculty of Law at Cairo University" above and dates below (1868-2018).

كلية الحقوق - جامعة القاهرة


Denomination divides dates (Gregorian and Hegira), legend "Arab Republic of Egypt" above. The inscription "150 years from establishing the Faculty of Law". Engraver's name on the left below the date.

Engraver: el-Gibaly

جمهورية مصر العربية
١٤٤٠هـ ٢٠١٩م
١٥٠ عاما على إنشاء كلية الحقوق


1 Pound

Cairo University
150th Anniversary of the Faculty of Law

Subscribe series
Type Commemorative Issue (Non-circulating)
Material Silver
Fineness 0.720
Weight 15 g
Diameter 35 mm
Thickness 2 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Cairo Mint

Related coins

100th Anniversary of the Faculty of Law

Cairo University

Silver, 15 g, ⌀ 35 mm
100th Anniversary of the Faculty of Law

Cairo University

Gold, 8 g, ⌀ 24 mm
25th Anniversary of the Faculty of Economics and Political Science

Cairo University

Gold, 8 g, ⌀ 24 mm