Obverse. Photo © NumisCorner.com
  • 10 Rupees 2010, KM# 388, India, Republic, 75th Anniversary of the Reserve Bank of India
  • 10 Rupees 2010, KM# 388, India, Republic, 75th Anniversary of the Reserve Bank of India

The Reserve Bank of India, chiefly known as RBI, is India's central bank and regulatory body responsible for the regulation of the Indian banking system. It is responsible for the control, issuing and maintaining a supply of the Indian rupee. It also manages the country's main payment systems and works to promote its economic development.

The Reserve Bank of India was founded on 1 April 1935 to respond to economic troubles after the First World War. Though privately owned initially, it was nationalised in 1949 and since then fully owned by the Ministry of Finance, Government of India.


Depicts the State Emblem of India with Satyameva Jayate surrounded by the country name above and denomimation below.

The State Emblem of India is an adaptation of the Lion Capital of Ashoka at Sarnath, preserved in the Sarnath Museum near Varanasi, India. A representation of Lion Capital of Ashoka was officially adopted on 26 January 1950, the day that India became a republic.

The actual Sarnath capital features four Asiatic lions standing back to back, symbolizing power, courage, confidence and pride, mounted on a circular base. At the bottom is a horse and a bull, and at its centre is a wheel (Dharma Chakra). The abacus is girded with a frieze of sculptures in high relief of The Lion of the North, The Horse of the West, The Bull of the South and The Elephant of the East, separated by intervening wheels, over a lotus in full bloom, exemplifying the fountainhead of life and creative inspiration.

"Satyameva Jayate" (Sanskrit: सत्यमेव जयते satyam-eva jayate; lit. "Truth alone triumphs.") is a part of a mantra from the ancient Indian scripture Mundaka Upanishad. Following the independence of India, it was adopted as the national motto. It is inscribed in script at the base of the Lion Capital of Ashoka and forms an integral part of the national emblem. The emblem and the words "Satyameva Jayate" are inscribed on one side of all Indian currency.

भारत INDIA
सत्यमेव जयते
रूपये 10 RUPEES


Depicts the seal of the Reserve Bank of India (an Indian lion facing left, a palm tree behind), surrounded by the inscription in two languages above and dates below, with a mintmark below the date.

भारतीय रिज़र्व बैंक RESERVE BANK OF INDIA
प्लैटिनम जयंती

Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Bi-Metallic
Ring Aluminium Bronze
Center Cupronickel
Weight 7.71 g
Diameter 27 mm
Thickness 1.8 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Hyderabad Mint (★)
Mumbai Mint (M)
Mumbai Mint (♦)
Noida Mint (●)

Related coins

Bi-Metallic, 7.71 g, ⌀ 27 mm

Bi-Metallic, 7.74 g, ⌀ 27 mm

75th Anniversary of Indian Independence

Bi-Metallic, 7.74 g, ⌀ 27 mm