The Bank of Russia released four new regular issue coins into circulation in 2016. The 1, 2, 5 and 10 feature the crowned Russian arms used by the Czars, rather than the uncrowned eagle of the Bank of Russia that was used on the previous coin issues.


In the center the image of the National Coat of Arms of the Russian Federation, over it the semicircular inscription RUSSIAN FEDERATION framed by two double rhombuses, under the coat of arms to the right the mint trade mark (MMD), below the inscription BANK OF RUSSIA and the year of issue.

The two main elements of Russian state symbols (the two-headed eagle and the mounted figure slaying the dragon) predate Peter the Great. Today, however, the official description does not refer to the rider on the central shield as representing Saint George, mainly in order to maintain the secular character of the modern Russian state. The imperial crowns on each head stand for the unity and sovereignty of Russia, both as a whole and in its constituent republics and regions. The orb and scepter grasped in the eagle's talons are traditional heraldic symbols of sovereign power and authority. They have been retained in the modern Russian arms despite the fact that the Russian Federation is not a monarchy.



Denomination in the coin center, a little to the left: 10 RUBLES. There are the hidden pictures inside of the figure “0”: inscription RUB and digital 10. Both pictures are visible by turns on changing the angle of vision. Below the denomination along the rim and on the right part of the disc the stylized vegetable ornament in form of a branch with two interwoven caulescents.



6 equal sections on 5 corrugations and 6 equal sections on 7 corrugations, alternated with 12 plain sections.

Swap now (1 offer)
Material Brass Plated Steel
Weight 5.63 g
Diameter 22 mm
Thickness 2.2 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Moscow Mint (MMD)

Related coins

Non-magnetic, reeded edge

Cupronickel, 3.75 g, ⌀ 21.1 mm
Magnetic, plain edge

Copper Nickel Clad Steel, 3.5 g, ⌀ 21.1 mm