• 2 Rupees 1998, KM# 296, India, Republic, Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das
  • 2 Rupees 1998, KM# 296, India, Republic, Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das

Varieties of Asoka statue:
Type A: Asoka column 15 mm tall, 5 fur rows on right lion, no lion whiskers
Type B: Asoka column 14 mm tall, 3 fur rows on right lion, 5 lion whiskers
Type C: Asoka column 13 mm tall, 4 fur rows on right lion
Type D: Asoka column 13 mm tall, 4 fur rows on right lion, recut chest on central lion


Depicts the State Emblem of India with Satyameva Jayate below surrounded by the country name and value.

The State Emblem of India is an adaptation of the Lion Capital of Ashoka at Sarnath, preserved in the Sarnath Museum near Varanasi, India. A representation of Lion Capital of Ashoka was officially adopted on 26 January 1950, the day that India became a republic.

The actual Sarnath capital features four Asiatic lions standing back to back, symbolizing power, courage, confidence and pride, mounted on a circular base. At the bottom is a horse and a bull, and at its centre is a wheel (Dharma Chakra). The abacus is girded with a frieze of sculptures in high relief of The Lion of the North, The Horse of the West, The Bull of the South and The Elephant of the East, separated by intervening wheels, over a lotus in full bloom, exemplifying the fountainhead of life and creative inspiration.

"Satyameva Jayate" (Sanskrit: सत्यमेव जयते satyam-eva jayate; lit. "Truth alone triumphs.") is a part of a mantra from the ancient Indian scripture Mundaka Upanishad. Following the independence of India, it was adopted as the national motto. It is inscribed in script at the base of the Lion Capital of Ashoka and forms an integral part of the national emblem. The emblem and the words "Satyameva Jayate" are inscribed on one side of all Indian currency.

भारत INDIA
सत्यमेव जयते
रुपये 2 RUPEES


Depicts a bust of Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das, surrounded by the inscription, date below. Mintmark (if any) below the date.

Chittaranjan Das (C. R. Das), popularly called Deshbandhu (Friend of the Nation), (1869–1925), was a leading Indian politician, a prominent lawyer, an activist of the Indian National Movement and founder-leader of the Swaraj (Independence) Party in Bengal during British occupation in India.

देशबन्धु चितरंजन दास DESHBANDHU CHITTARANJAN DAS 1870-1925

Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Cupronickel
Weight 6 g
Diameter 26 mm
Thickness -
Shape polygon
Sides 11
Alignment Medal
Alt # KM# 296.1, KM# 296.2, KM# 296.3, KM# 296.4, KM# 296.5, KM# 296.6
Calcutta Mint (no mintmark)
Hyderabad Mint (★)
Noida Mint (•)

Related coins

Stainless Steel, 5.8 g, ⌀ 27 mm

200th Anniversary of Birth of Louis Braille

Stainless Steel, 5.8 g, ⌀ 27 mm

Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games

Stainless Steel, 5.6 g, ⌀ 27 mm