• 2 Rupees 2007-2011, KM# 327, India, Republic
  • 2 Rupees 2007-2011, KM# 327, India, Republic

Depicts the State Emblem of India with Satyameva Jayate below separated by horizontal lines from the country name above and date with mintmark (if any) below.

The State Emblem of India is an adaptation of the Lion Capital of Ashoka at Sarnath, preserved in the Sarnath Museum near Varanasi, India. A representation of Lion Capital of Ashoka was officially adopted on 26 January 1950, the day that India became a republic.

The actual Sarnath capital features four Asiatic lions standing back to back, symbolizing power, courage, confidence and pride, mounted on a circular base. At the bottom is a horse and a bull, and at its centre is a wheel (Dharma Chakra). The abacus is girded with a frieze of sculptures in high relief of The Lion of the North, The Horse of the West, The Bull of the South and The Elephant of the East, separated by intervening wheels, over a lotus in full bloom, exemplifying the fountainhead of life and creative inspiration.

"Satyameva Jayate" (Sanskrit: सत्यमेव जयते satyam-eva jayate; lit. "Truth alone triumphs.") is a part of a mantra from the ancient Indian scripture Mundaka Upanishad. Following the independence of India, it was adopted as the national motto. It is inscribed in script at the base of the Lion Capital of Ashoka and forms an integral part of the national emblem. The emblem and the words "Satyameva Jayate" are inscribed on one side of all Indian currency.

भारत INDIA
सत्यमेव जयते


Depicts a hand showing two fingers (Hasta Mudra — hand gesture from the dance Bharatanatyam) and value in Hindi and English.

In Bharatanatyam, the Classical Dance of India, approximately fifty-five root mudras (hand/finger gestures) are used to clearly communicate specific ideas, events, actions, or creatures in which thirty-two require only one hand.


Swap now (1 offer)
Material Stainless Steel
Weight 5.8 g
Diameter 27 mm
Thickness 1.5 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Calcutta Mint (no mintmark)
Hyderabad Mint (★)
Mumbai Mint (♦)
Noida Mint (•)

Related coins

Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das

Cupronickel, 6 g, ⌀ 26 mm

200th Anniversary of Birth of Louis Braille

Stainless Steel, 5.8 g, ⌀ 27 mm

Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games

Stainless Steel, 5.6 g, ⌀ 27 mm