• 5 Deutsche Mark 1970, KM# 127, Germany, Federal Republic, 200th Anniversary of Birth of Ludwig van Beethoven
  • 5 Deutsche Mark 1970, KM# 127, Germany, Federal Republic, 200th Anniversary of Birth of Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827) was a German composer and pianist. Beethoven is acknowledged to be one of the giants of classical music. Together with Bach and Johannes Brahms, he is referred to as one of the "three Bs" who epitomize that tradition. A crucial figure in the transition between the Classical and Romantic eras in Classical music, he remains one of the most famous and influential of all composers. His best-known compositions include 9 symphonies, 5 piano concertos, 1 violin concerto, 32 piano sonatas, 16 string quartets, his great Mass the Missa solemnis, and one opera, Fidelio.

Born in Bonn, then the capital of the Electorate of Cologne and part of the Holy Roman Empire, Beethoven displayed his musical talents at an early age and was taught by his father Johann van Beethoven and by composer and conductor Christian Gottlob Neefe. At the age of 21 he moved to Vienna, where he began studying composition with Joseph Haydn and gained a reputation as a virtuoso pianist. He lived in Vienna until his death. By his late 20s his hearing began to deteriorate, and by the last decade of his life he was almost completely deaf. In 1811 he gave up conducting and performing in public but continued to compose; many of his most admired works come from these last 15 years of his life.

Engraver: Siegmund Schütz


Depicts Federal Eagle in the centre, surrounded by the country name, facial value divides issue date. Stuttgart State Mint mark (F) near the "5".

The coat of arms of Germany displays a black eagle with red feet, beak and tongue on a golden field. This is the Bundesadler or "Federal Eagle", formerly the Reichsadler or "Imperial Eagle". It is a re-introduction of the coat of arms of the Weimar Republic (in use 1919–1935) adopted by the Federal Republic of Germany in 1950. The current official design is due to Tobias Schwab (1887–1967) and was introduced in 1928.

19 70


Portrait of Ludwig van Beethoven left, his name above, dates of his births and death below.



"All men shall become brothers" is a quotation from the fourth movement of the Symphony No. 9, the final complete symphony by Ludwig van Beethoven. The text of the fourth movement is largely taken from Schiller's "Ode to Joy", with a few additional introductory words written specifically by Beethoven.


Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Silver
Fineness 0.625
Weight 11.2 g
Diameter 29 mm
Thickness 2.07 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Stuttgart State Mint (F)

Related coins

Silver, 11.2 g, ⌀ 29 mm
100th Anniversary of the Foundation of Germany

Silver, 11.2 g, ⌀ 29 mm