Sun Yat-sen (1866–1925) was the founding father of the Republic of China. The first provisional president of the Republic of China, Sun was a Chinese medical doctor, writer, philosopher, Georgist, calligrapher, and revolutionary. As the foremost pioneer and first leader of a Republican China, Sun is referred to as the "Father of the Nation" in the Republic of China (ROC) and the "forerunner of democratic revolution" in the People's Republic of China (PRC). Sun played an instrumental role in the overthrow of the Qing dynasty (the last imperial dynasty of China) during the years leading up to the Xinhai Revolution. He was appointed to serve as Provisional President of the Republic of China when it was founded in 1912. He later co-founded the Kuomintang (Nationalist Party of China), serving as its first leader. Sun was a uniting figure in post-Imperial China, and he remains unique among 20th-century Chinese politicians for being widely revered amongst the people from both sides of the Taiwan Strait.


Bust of Sun Yat-sen left. The 43rd year of the Republic and the state name (Republic of China) above, May 20 below.

Generalissimo Chiang Kai-shek was elected by the National Assembly to be the first-term president of the Republic of China (Taiwan) on 20 May 1948. On May 20, 1954, he was officially re-elected. Since that day a new term started every 6 years on May 20. If for whatever reason the president died or had to step down the seat would be vacant until the end of this 6-year term. Since 1996 the changed the term in four years.

Following the Chinese imperial tradition of using the sovereign's era name and year of reign, official Republic of China documents use the Republic system of numbering years in which the first year was 1912, the year of the founding of the Republic of China.



Map of the island with three characters (Taiwan Province) divides value on a field of 49 horizontal lines inside a circle.


Material Brass
Weight 7 g
Diameter 27 mm
Thickness 1.85 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Central Mint of China (CMC)

Related coins

Silver, 5 g, ⌀ 24 mm

Brass, 3.4 g, ⌀ 22.5 mm