Francis II (1768–1835) was the last Holy Roman Emperor, ruling from 1792 until 6 August 1806, when he dissolved the Holy Roman Empire after the decisive defeat at the hands of the First French Empire led by Napoleon at the Battle of Austerlitz. In 1804, he had founded the Austrian Empire and became Francis I, the first Emperor of Austria, ruling from 1804 to 1835, so later he was named the one and only Doppelkaiser (double emperor) in history. He was also Apostolic King of Hungary and Bohemia as Francis I.

Struck until 1852 with 1816 date.


Coat of arms of the Austrian Empire (1804–1867, crowned double double-headed eagle holding scepter and sword) surrounded by an inscription "Königliche and Kaiserliche Oesterreichische Scheidemünze" ("Royal and Imperial Austrian small money").

The Reichsadler ("Imperial Eagle") is the heraldic eagle, derived from the Roman eagle standard, used by the Holy Roman Emperors. In 1804, Holy Roman Emperor Francis II established the Austrian Empire from the lands of the Habsburg Monarchy, and adopted the double-headed eagle, aggrandized by an inescutcheon emblem of the House of Habsburg-Lorraine and the Order of the Golden Fleece, as its coat of arms.



Depicts a star, the value in German, date, wreath. Mintmark below.



1 Kreuzer

KM# 2113
Material Copper
Weight 8.69 g
Diameter 26.6 mm
Thickness 2 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Graz Mint (G)
Karlsburg Mint (E)
Kremnica Mint (B)
Oravicza Mint (O)
Schmöllnitz Mint (S)
Vienna Mint (A)

Related coins

Silver, 6.68 g, ⌀ 28 mm

Nickel, 4 g, ⌀ 21 mm

Brass Plated Steel, 5.63 g, ⌀ 22 mm