German East Africa (German: Deutsch-Ostafrika) (GEA) was a German colony in the African Great Lakes region, which included present-day Burundi, Rwanda, and the mainland part of Tanzania (formerly known as Tanganyika). GEA's area was 994,996 square kilometres (384,170 sq mi), which was nearly three times the area of present-day Germany, and double the area of metropolitan Germany then.

The colony was organised when the German military was asked in the late 1880s to put down a revolt against the activities of the German East Africa Company. It ended with Imperial Germany's defeat in World War I. Ultimately, GEA was divided between Britain, Belgium and Portugal and was reorganised as a mandate of the League of Nations.


Depicts the German State Crown, country name in German above, date below.

In 1871 a design and a model for a new state crown were created to reflect the new German Empire. The model was based upon the Crown of the Holy Roman Empire and was kept in the Hohenzollern museum at Schloss Monbijou in Berlin, until it disappeared during World War II. It has never re-surfaced. No final crown was ever made. However, the design was used as a heraldic device for the German Kaisers from 1871 until Kaiser Wilhelm's abdication in 1918. The crown was most used as an heraldic symbol, in the German coat of arms and the Emperor's personal standard.

♦ 1912 ♦


Value within wreath.


Material Bronze
Weight 4.05 g
Diameter 20.2 mm
Thickness 1.65 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Berlin State Mint (A)
Hamburg Mint (J)

Related coins

Small Shield

Copper, 2 g, ⌀ 17.5 mm

Silver, 27.7 g, ⌀ 38 mm
100th Anniversary of the Battle of Leipzig

Silver, 16.67 g, ⌀ 33 mm