• 25 Kuna 2019, Croatia, 350th Anniversary of the University of Zagreb
  • 25 Kuna 2019, Croatia, 350th Anniversary of the University of Zagreb

The University of Zagreb is the largest Croatian university and the oldest continuously operating university in the area covering Central Europe south of Vienna and all of Southeastern Europe.

The history of the University began on September 23, 1669, when the Holy Roman Emperor Leopold I issued a decree granting the establishment of the Jesuit Academy of the Royal Free City of Zagreb. The decree was accepted at the Council of the Croatian Kingdom on November 3, 1671. The Academy was run by the Jesuits for more than a century until the order was dissolved by Pope Clement XIV in 1773. In 1776, Empress Maria Theresa issued a decree founding the Royal Academy of Science which succeeded the previous Jesuit Academy. Bishop Josip Juraj Strossmayer proposed the founding of a University to the Croatian Parliament in 1861. Emperor Franz Joseph signed the decree on the establishment of the University of Zagreb in 1869. The Act of Founding was passed by the Parliament in 1874, and was ratified by the Emperor on January 5, 1874. On October 19, 1874, the Royal University of Franz Joseph I was officially opened.

The University is composed of 29 faculties, 3 art academies and 1 university center with more than 70,000 students.

Release date: 4 November 2019


The inner part features a partial presentation of the official logo of the University of Zagreb, which consists of the graphically stylised presentation of the central avant-corps with the staircase of the University building (Rectorate and the Faculty of Law) and the sculpture by Ivan Meštrović, "History of Croats”, which is positioned in front of the entrance to the University building. The dates of the founding of the University and coin's issue below.

The letter part features the coat of arms of Zagreb (a three-towered city with a star and a crescent moon overhead). The coat of arms dates back to at least the 18th century. The inscription “350th Anniversary of the founding of the University of Zagreb" is laid out circularly within the ring.

1669.– 2019.


The centre features the stylised denomination numeral. The outlines of the number reveal an image of a marten turned to the right. The coat of arms of the Republic of Croatia is above dividing the country name. The name of the monetary unit below surrounded by a common oak branch with acorns on the left and a laurel branch in bloom on the right.

The coat of arms of the Republic of Croatia consists of one main shield and five smaller shields which form a crown over the main shield. The main coat of arms is a checkerboard (chequy) that consists of 13 red and 12 silver (white) fields. It's also informally known in Croatian as šahovnica ("chessboard", from šah, "chess"). The five smaller shields represent five different historical regions within Croatia.



25 Kuna

350th Anniversary of the University of Zagreb

Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Bi-Metallic
Ring Copper
Center Brass
Weight 12.75 g
Diameter 32 mm
Thickness 2.2 mm
Shape polygon
Sides 12
Alignment Medal
Croatian Monetary Institute (HNZ)

Related coins

Reintegration of Srem-Baranja Oblast in Croatia

Bi-Metallic, 12.75 g, ⌀ 32 mm
5th Anniversary of Accession of Croatia to UN

Bi-Metallic, 12.75 g, ⌀ 32 mm
First Croatian Esperanto Congress

Bi-Metallic, 12.75 g, ⌀ 32 mm