In 2007 all EU countries celebrated the 50th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Rome, the EU’s founding document. The Treaty established the original European Economic Community among its six signatories; that Community has evolved over the decades into today’s 27-member European Union, of which the euro is perhaps the most tangible symbol.

The collector coin is part of the Europa Coin Programme, also known as the European Silver Programme, or the Eurostar Programme. It is an initiative dedicated to the issuance of collector-oriented legal tender coins in precious metals to celebrate European identity. The issuing authorities of EU member countries voluntarily contribute coins to the Europa Coin Programme. Multiple countries have participated in the programme, beginning in 2004. Some coins are denominated in euro, others are denominated in other currencies.

Artist: Roberto Mauri


Depicts the pavement pattern of the Piazza del Campidoglio, the seat of the Capitol Building in Rome, made by Michelangelo. In the centre, there is the letter R, for Rome, the place where the treaty was signed. On the right, the letter E, a symbol of Europe, is made by some geometrical elements of the pavement. On the left, incorporated in the pavement pattern, are the initials of the six signatory countries: "BE" for Belgium; "DE" for Germany; "IT" for Italy; "FR" for France; "LU" for Luxembourg; "NL" for the Netherlands. Below the pavement is the date, while above, around the rim, the twelve stars of the European Community.

2007 m


Depicts the front view of the Palazzo Senatorio with the well-known staircase in the foreground. In the centre, above the palace, is the Tower of the Paratina with at left the value and at right the Eurostar logo (the special mark used on coins to indicate participation in the Europa Coin Programme). The mintmark (R) is below, in the centre.

The Capitolium or Capitoline Hill (Italian: Campidoglio), between the Forum and the Campus Martius, is one of the Seven Hills of Rome. The Capitoline Hill contains few ancient ground-level ruins, as they are almost entirely covered up by Medieval and Renaissance palazzi (now housing the Capitoline Museums) that surround a piazza, an urban plan designed by Michelangelo.

Built during the 13th and 14th centuries, the Palazzo Senatorio ("Senatorial palace") stands atop the Tabularium, which had once housed the archives of ancient Rome. The upper part of the facade was designed by Michelangelo with colossal corinthian pilasters harmonizing with the two other buildings. Its bell tower was designed by Martino Longhi the Elder and built between 1578 and 1582.



20 Euro

Eurostar - European Realisation
50th Anniversary of the Treaty of Rome

Subscribe series
KM# 298 Fr# 1557
Type Commemorative Issue (Non-circulating)
Material Gold
Fineness 0.900
Weight 6.451 g
Diameter 21 mm
Thickness -
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Italian State Mint and Polygraphic Institute (IPZS)

Related coins

100th Anniversary of Universal Male Suffrage

Eurostar - European Realisation

Silver, 10 g, ⌀ 28.5 mm
50th Anniversary of the Treaty of Rome

Eurostar - European Realisation

Silver, 18.75 g, ⌀ 33 mm
175th Anniversary of Birth of Adolf Erik Nordenskiöld

Eurostar - European Realisation

Silver, 25.5 g, ⌀ 38.6 mm