Portuguese Angola or Portuguese West Africa (1575–1975) refers to Angola during the historic period when it was a territory under Portuguese rule in southwestern Africa. Initially ruling along the coast and engaging in military conflicts with the Kingdom of Kongo, in the 18th century Portugal gradually managed to colonise the interior highlands, however full control of the entire territory was not achieved until the beginning of the 20th century, when agreements with other European powers during the Scramble for Africa fixed the colony's interior borders. In 1975, Portuguese Angola became the independent People's Republic of Angola.


Depicts the coat of arms (1951-1975), name of country above, date below.

The coats of arms of the Portuguese colonies were introduced in 1935. All arms were of the same model: divided vertically in such a way that two sub-shields are formed. The dexter was white with five small blue shields each bearing five white discs (i.e. Cinco Quinas, Five Quinas representing the motherland). The sinister represented the colony. The colonial sub-shields for Angola depicted a golden elephant above a golden zebra. In the base green and white waves to indicate the overseas location. To complete the badge, the arms were set upon a golden armillary sphere with a golden mural crown. The crown had 5 apparent towers in each tower charged an armillary sphere and in each space between towers charged Christ’s cross.



Denomination in the centre.


Material Bronze
Weight 8 g
Diameter 26 mm
Thickness 2 mm
Shape round
Alignment Coin
Portuguese Mint and Official Printing Office (INCM)

Related coins

Buddha Jayanthi 2500th Anniversary

Silver, 28.26 g, ⌀ 38.74 mm
Portuguese Province

Bronze, 4 g, ⌀ 20 mm

Cupronickel, 3.46 g, ⌀ 20 mm