East Germany, formally the German Democratic Republic (GDR; German: Deutsche Demokratische Republik, DDR), was an Eastern Bloc state during the Cold War period. From 1949 to 1990, it administered the region of Germany that was occupied by Soviet forces at the end of World War II. The Soviet zone surrounded West Berlin, but did not include it; as a result, West Berlin remained outside the jurisdiction of the GDR. The German Democratic Republic was established in the Soviet Zone, while the Federal Republic was established in the three western zones. East Germany, which lies culturally in Central Germany, was a satellite state of the Soviet Union. The GDR was dissolved and Germany was unified on 3 October 1990, becoming a fully sovereign state again.


Depicts the national emblem of the German Democratic Republic featured a hammer and a compass (drawing tool), surrounded by a ring of rye. The hammer represented the workers in the factories. The compass represented the intelligentsia, and the ring of rye the farmers.

Value and year below. Mintmark above.

1979 5 MARK


Depicts the Brandenburg Gate.

The Brandenburg Gate is an 18th-century neoclassical monument in Berlin, and one of the best-known landmarks of Germany. It is built on the site of a former city gate that marked the start of the road from Berlin to the town of Brandenburg an der Havel.

Engraver: Wilfried Fitzenreiter



* 5 MARK * 5 MARK * 5 MARK * 5 MARK

Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Cupronickel
Weight 9.7 g
Diameter 29 mm
Thickness 2.07 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Berlin State Mint (A)

Related coins

20th Anniversary of the German Democratic Republic

Nickel Bronze, 9.87 g, ⌀ 29 mm
75th Anniversary of Death of Johannes Brahms

Cupronickel, 9.7 g, ⌀ 29 mm
100th Anniversary of Birth of Albert Einstein

Copper Nickel Zinc, 12.2 g, ⌀ 29 mm