East Germany, formally the German Democratic Republic (GDR; German: Deutsche Demokratische Republik, DDR), was an Eastern Bloc state during the Cold War period. From 1949 to 1990, it administered the region of Germany that was occupied by Soviet forces at the end of World War II. The Soviet zone surrounded West Berlin, but did not include it; as a result, West Berlin remained outside the jurisdiction of the GDR. The German Democratic Republic was established in the Soviet Zone, while the Federal Republic was established in the three western zones. East Germany, which lies culturally in Central Germany, was a satellite state of the Soviet Union. The GDR was dissolved and Germany was unified on 3 October 1990, becoming a fully sovereign state again.


Depicts the emblem of the German Democratic Republic surrounded by the country name.

The national emblem of the German Democratic Republic featured a hammer and a compass (drawing tool), surrounded by a ring of rye. The hammer represented the workers in the factories. The compass represented the intelligentsia, and the ring of rye the farmers.



Inscription "20th Anniversary of the GDR" on top of value and date.

1969 5 MARK


* 5 MARK * 5 MARK* 5 MARK * 5 MARK

Type Commemorative Issue (Circulating)
Material Nickel Bronze
Weight 9.87 g
Diameter 29 mm
Thickness 1.8 mm
Shape round
Alignment Medal
Alt # KM# 22.1, KM# 22.2, KM# 22.3
Berlin State Mint (A)

Related coins

Brandenburg Gate

Cupronickel, 9.7 g, ⌀ 29 mm
75th Anniversary of Death of Johannes Brahms

Cupronickel, 9.7 g, ⌀ 29 mm
100th Anniversary of Birth of Albert Einstein

Copper Nickel Zinc, 12.2 g, ⌀ 29 mm